Reception Preview Learning Archive

05 July 2021

In Reception class this week …

Maths

In maths we are continuing Phase 10; On the Move. Looking at patterns

 

Floppy’s Phonics –

 In phonics this week we are revisiting all the sounds from Stage 3 & 4

 

Communication & Language – Literacy

We are making up new stories using the Pirate Tom story pattern. Last week we told the story of Astronaut Jim and Cowboy Jack!

Making sure we can write our name using a capital letter.

 

PSED (Personal, Social & Emotional Development)

This week we are thinking about moving into Year 1 and how we can be ready.

 

Understanding the World –  TOPIC – ECO EARTH

 

Where does our food grow?

 

Expressive Arts & Design               Music

  • Junk Modelling Listening and discussing
  • Recycled pictures
  • Colouring
  • Painting

 


28 June 2021

In Reception class this week …

Maths

In maths we are starting Phase 10; On the Move. Deepening our understanding of number and problem solving.

Floppy’s Phonics –

Stage 4 Floppy’s Phonics Revise and Stretch. This week we are learning new ways of reading the sounds….

 /u/  u  o  e.g. love, other    -ed  /d/  /t/  e.g. jumped, lived

 

Communication & Language – Literacy

We are changing our story about Pirate Tom. What is he doing now?

Making sure we can write our name using a capital letter.

PSED (Personal, Social & Emotional Development)

This week we are continuing to find out how we can stay healthy. A Good’s Night Sleep!

 

 

Understanding the World –  TOPIC – ECO EARTH

 

This week is all about where our food comes from.

 

Expressive Arts & Design               Music

  • Junk Modelling Listening and discussing
  • Recycled pictures
  • Colouring

 

 


21 June 2021

In Reception class this week …

Maths

In maths we are continuing with the phase of Find My Pattern – Number : Odd & Even

Floppy’s Phonics –

 Stage 4 Floppy’s Phonics Revise and Stretch. This week we are learning new ways of reading the sounds….

 /s/  s  -ce   /e/  e   -ea  

 

Communication & Language – Literacy

We are continuing our story about Pirate Tom.

Making sure we can write our name using a capital letter.

 

PSED (Personal, Social & Emotional Development)

 

This week we are continuing to find out how we can stay healthy. Let’s Get Moving!

 

Understanding the World –  TOPIC – ECO EARTH

 

This week is all about endangered animals and sea creatures.

 

Expressive Arts & Design               Music

  • Junk Modelling Listening and discussing
  • Recycled pictures
  • Colouring

 


14 June 2021

In Reception class this week …

Maths

In maths we are continuing with the phase of Find My Pattern – Number : Sharing and Grouping

Floppy’s Phonics –

 Stage 4 Floppy’s Phonics Revise and Stretch. This week we are learning new ways of reading the sounds….

 /or/  or  aw   /eer/  ear  eer   /air/  air  are

 

Communication & Language – Literacy

We are beginning a new story all about a pirate

PSED (Personal, Social & Emotional Development)

 

This week we are continuing to find out how we can stay healthy.

 

Understanding the World –  TOPIC – ECO EARTH

This week is we are finding out how plastic hurts the earth and all about recycling

 

 

Expressive Arts & Design

  • Junk Modelling
  • Recycled pictures
  • Colouring

 


07 June 2021

In Reception class this week …

Maths

In maths we begin the new phase of Find My Pattern – Number : Doubling

 

Floppy’s Phonics –

 

Stage 4 Floppy’s Phonics Revise and Stretch. This week we are learning new ways of reading the sounds….

                              /oo/  oo  -ew        /ou/  ow  ou           /ur/  ur  ir

 

 

Communication & Language – Literacy

We are finishing our story – At the End of the Rainbow. We are writing down all of our changes

PSED (Personal, Social & Emotional Development)

This week we are thinking about Staying healthy.

 

 

Understanding the World –  TOPIC – ECO EARTH

 

This week is ‘What Lies Beneath our Feet’ – we are looking at what the earth is made of

 

Expressive Arts & Design

  • Doubling/symmetrical butterflies
  • Collage – healthy eating

 


24 May 2021

Maths

In maths we are continuing the new phase of First Then Now – Spacial Awareness; investigating shapes

 

Floppy’s Phonics –

 Stage 4 Floppy’s Phonics Revise and Stretch. This week we are learning new ways of reading the sounds….

/igh/  -igh  -ie           /oa/  oa  ow            /yoo/  -ue  ew

 

 

Communication & Language – Literacy

We are finishing our story – At the End of the Rainbow. We are writing down all of our changes

PSED (Personal, Social & Emotional Development)

This week we are thinking about the school values and looking after each other.

 

Understanding the World –  TOPIC – ECO EARTH

This week we are looking after our flower beds and tubs, and seeing if our seeds are starting to grow.

 

Expressive Arts & Design

  • Finishing our tree printing pictures
  • Tissue paper flowers
  • Printing with a fork – flowers
  • Continuing with our ‘Sunflower’ pictures

 

 


17 May 2021

Maths

In maths we are continuing the new phase of First Then Now – Taking away

Floppy’s Phonics –

Stage 4 Floppy’s Phonics Revise and Stretch. This week we are learning new ways of reading    ai (ay)  oi  (oy)   ee  (ea)

 

Communication & Language – Literacy

We are continuing with our story – At the End of the Rainbow. We are making our own changes.

PSED (Personal, Social & Emotional Development)

  Our topic this term is ‘Growing and Changing’.

This week we are watching the baby chicks grow and looking at the changes that have happened to us as we have got bigger.

 

Understanding the World –  TOPIC – ECO EARTH 

This week we are finding out about seeds and fruits.

We are also looking at worms and how they are good for the soil.

Expressive Arts & Design

  • Painting flowers
  • Tissue paper flowers
  • Printing with a fork – flowers

Looking at ‘The Sunflowers’ by Vincent Van Gogh

 


10 May 2021

In Reception class this week …

Maths  

In maths we are beginning the new phase of First Then Now – Adding more

Floppy’s Phonics –

 

Stage 4 Floppy’s Phonics Revise and Blend.

This week we are revising the tricky words and finding out how many we can read.

 

Communication & Language – Literacy

We are continuing with our story – At the End of the Rainbow. We are making more changes and writing sentences.

PSED (Personal, Social & Emotional Development)

 Our topic this term is ‘Growing and Changing’. This week we are learning about baby animals.

‘Living Eggs’ are bringing some eggs into the classroom for us to see them hatch.

 

Understanding the World –  TOPIC – ECO EARTH

 

Finding out about plants and how they grow.

This week we are learning what the different parts of plants are called and what plants need to grow and thrive.

 

Expressive Arts & Design

  • Painting flowers
  • Tissue paper flowers
  • Printing with a fork – flowers

 


Week Commencing 04 May 2021

Maths

In maths we are continuing the new phase of ‘To 20 and Beyond’ – Building numbers beyond 10

Floppy’s Phonics –

Stage 4 Floppy’s Phonics Revise and Blend.

We are reviewing all the sounds we have covered so far.

Communication & Language – Literacy

We are continuing with our story – At the End of the Rainbow. We are making changes and writing sentences.

PSED (Personal, Social & Emotional Development)

Our topic this term is ‘Growing and Changing’.

This week we are learning about how we change over time.

Understanding the World –  TOPIC – ECO EARTH

Finding out about plants and how they grow. This week we are learning about trees.

Expressive Arts & Design

  • Bark rubbing
  • Leaf printing

 


26 April 2021

In Reception class this week …

Maths

In maths we are continuing the new phase of ‘To 20 and Beyond’ – Building numbers beyond 10

 

Floppy’s Phonics –

Stage 4 Floppy’s Phonics.

We are reviewing all the sounds we have covered so far.

 

Communication & Language – Literacy

We are learning a new story – At the End of the Rainbow. We are writing sentences and using the words ‘and’ and ‘but’.

PSED (Personal, Social & Emotional Development)

Our topic this term is ‘Growing and Changing’. This week we are learning about the life cycle of a butterfly and a frog.

Understanding the World –  TOPIC – ECO EARTH

Finding out about plants and how they grow. Planting our flower bed and the pots.

 

Expressive Arts & Design

  • Jack & the Beanstalk – characters/collage/painting
  • Flower collage

 

 


19 April 2021

Maths

In maths we are beginning the new phase of ‘To 20 and Beyond’ – Building numbers beyond 10

Floppy’s Phonics –

We have come to the end of Floppy’s Phonics Stage 3.

Do we know all the sounds? How well do we know the tricky words? Let’s find out.

 

Communication & Language – Literacy

We are learning a new story – At the End of the Rainbow. We are writing sentences and using the words ‘and’ and ‘but’.

PSED (Personal, Social & Emotional Development)

        Our topic this term is ‘Growing and Changing’.

This week we are learning about seasons and the changing year.

Understanding the World –  TOPIC – ECO EARTH

Finding out about plants.     Planting our flower bed and the pots.

 

Expressive Arts & Design

  • Shoe box gardens
  • Flower collage

22 March 2021

Maths

 

Consolidating our learning on numerals 1 – 10; Composition, Subitising, Comparison, Counting on and back, Matching Numeral recognition, Ordering.

 

Floppy’s Phonics –

We are continuing with Floppy’s phonics Stage 3. We are learning the sounds –  air  er  er

and making words.

 

Communication & Language – Literacy

Publishing our story of the Drippy Dragon

PSED (Personal, Social & Emotional Development)

Back to school routines

 

Understanding the World –  TOPIC – EAGER EXPLORERS

Eager Explorers Fabulous finish – What do we know?

Expressive Arts & Design

  • Collage
  • Space boxes
  • Cd fish

 

15th March 2021

In Reception class this week …

Maths

We are continuing with our work on 3D shapes and patterns.

Floppy’s Phonics –

We are continuing with Floppy’s phonics Stage 3. We are learning the sounds –  ow  oi  ear

and making words.

Communication & Language – Literacy

Continuing our story of the Drippy Dragon

PSED (Personal, Social & Emotional Development)

Back to school routines

 

Understanding the World –  TOPIC – EAGER EXPLORERS

Space explorers

Expressive Arts & Design

  • Collage
  • Space boxes
  • Cd fish

 


8th March   

In Reception class this week …

Maths

 We are looking at 3D shapes and patterns

Floppy’s Phonics – We are continuing with Floppy’s phonics Stage 3. We are learning the sounds –  ar  or  ur and making words.

Communication & Language – LiteracyMaking up stories

 PSED (Personal, Social & Emotional Development) : Back to school routines

Understanding the World –  TOPIC – EAGER EXPLORERSUnderwater explorers

Expressive Arts & Design

  • Underwater collage
  • Fish crafts
  • Large display

5th January 2021

Maths

 

In maths we begin Phase 4 –  Alive in 5!

Introducing zero and comparing numbers.

Floppy’s Phonics –

We are continuing with Floppy’s phonics Stage 2. We are learning the sounds – zz  qu  ch  and making words.

We are learning capital letters and letter names, and checking our pencil hold.

 

Communication & Language – Literacy

 

What did I have for Christmas? New Year resolutions

 

PSED (Personal, Social & Emotional Development)

 

Keeping myself safe

  1. What’s safe to go onto my body

 

Understanding the World –  TOPIC – EAGER EXPLORERS

This week we are beginning our new topic. We are going to be explorers looking for dinosaur bones. Remember to come dressed for exploring on Thursday and Friday!

 

Expressive Arts & Design

  • Using materials to make a dinosaur fossil picture

 

 

 

In music learning about high and low sounds .

 


Monday 7th December

In Reception class this week we are ….

Maths

Phase 3 Light and Dark.

This week we are looking at Time – Night & Day.

 

Floppy’s Phonics –

This week we start Floppy’s phonics Stage 2. We are learning the sounds – -x  y  z  and making words.

We are learning how to hold a pencil and write the letters down.

 

Communication & Language – Literacy

We are continuing with our story, The Gingerbread Man; making up  new stories.

PSED (Personal, Social & Emotional Development)

Valuing difference

No. 5 Kind and caring (2)

Understanding the World –  Christmas

This week we are finding out about the Christmas story.

Expressive Arts & Design

  • Junk modelling – inventions of the future!  What will tomorrow look like?
  • Christmas craft

 

 

 

 

In music learning about loud  and quiet


30th  November

In Reception class this week we are ….

Maths

 

Phase 3 Light and Dark.

This week we are looking at shapes with 4 sides

Floppy’s Phonics –

This week we start Floppy’s phonics Stage 2. We are learning the sounds – j  v  w  and making words.

We are learning how to hold a pencil and write the letters down.

Communication & Language – Literacy

We are continuing with our story, The Gingerbread Man; making up a new story.

PSED (Personal, Social & Emotional Development)

Valuing difference

No. 5 Kind and caring (1)

 

Understanding the World –  Christmas

This week we are finding out about the Christmas story and Advent.

Expressive Arts & Design

  • Making Christmas decorations
  • Cutting skills

In music learning about loud  and quiet

Dancing with Emily.

 


30th  November

In Reception class this week we are ….

Maths

 

Phase 3 Light and Dark.

This week we are looking at shapes with 4 sides

Floppy’s Phonics –

This week we start Floppy’s phonics Stage 2. We are learning the sounds – j  v  w  and making words.

We are learning how to hold a pencil and write the letters down.

Communication & Language – Literacy

We are continuing with our story, The Gingerbread Man; making up a new story.

PSED (Personal, Social & Emotional Development)

Valuing difference

No. 5 Kind and caring (1)

 

Understanding the World –  Christmas

This week we are finding out about the Christmas story and Advent.

Expressive Arts & Design

  • Making Christmas decorations
  • Cutting skills

In music learning about loud  and quiet

Dancing with Emily.


23rd   November

In Reception class this week we are ….

Maths

 

Phase 3 Light and Dark. This week we are looking at the composition of 4 & 5.

 

Floppy’s Phonics

This week we are recapping all the sounds we have learnt so far this term. Making sure we know all of them.

We are learning how to hold a pencil and write the letters down.

Communication & Language – Literacy

 

We are continuing with our story, The Gingerbread Man; learning the story with actions

 

PSED (Personal, Social & Emotional Development)

Valuing difference

No. 4 Same and Different Homes

 

Understanding the World –  Science

This week we are undertaking some science investigations into bubbles.

Expressive Arts & Design

  • Collage – materials
  • Cutting skills

In music learning about loud    and quiet .

We are learning some dance moves with Emily too.


16th  November 2020

In Reception class this week we are ….

Maths

Phase 3 Light and Dark. This week we are looking at representing numbers to 5.

 

Floppy’s Phonics –

 

We are learning the sounds – ll  le  ss  and making words.

We are learning how to hold a pencil and write the letters down.

 

Communication & Language – Literacy

We are starting to learn a new story – The Gingerbread Man

PSED (Personal, Social & Emotional Development)

 

Valuing difference

No. 3 Same and Different Families

Understanding the World –  Science

This week we are undertaking some science investigations into materials.

Expressive Arts & Design

  • Collage – materials

In music learning about loud    and quiet .

We are learning some dance moves with Emily too.


9th  November

In Reception class this week we are ….

Maths

 

We are continuing with ‘It’s Me 1, 2 3! This week we are looking at circles and triangles.

Floppy’s Phonics –

We are learning the sounds – f  ff  l   and making words.

We are learning how to hold a pencil and write the letters down.

 

Communication & Language – Literacy

We are adding some details to our stories based on Stuck in the Mud and writing it down.

PSED (Personal, Social & Emotional Development)

Valuing difference

No. 2 Same and Different

 

Understanding the World –  Diwali

 

This week we are finding out about the Hindu Festival of lights, Diwali. We are having a Diwali dance workshop too.

 

Expressive Arts & Design

  • diya lamps.
  • Rangoli patterns

In music we are singing songs.

We are learning some dance moves with Emily too.

 


2nd November 2020

In Reception class this week we are ….

Maths

We are continuing with ‘It’s Me 1, 2 3! This week we are looking at the composition of 1, 2 & 3 and making comparisons. We are using cards, matching number names to numerals and quantities. We are comparing amounts; one more and one less.

Floppy’s Phonics –

We are learning the sounds – r  h  b  and making words.

We are learning how to hold a pencil and write the letters down.

Communication & Language – Literacy

We are learning a new story this week called Stuck in the Mud and making a story map.

We will also try to write some words to go with the story.

PSED (Personal, Social & Emotional Development)

 

Valuing difference

No. 1 I’m Special, your special.

 

Understanding the World –  Bonfire Night & Guy Fawkes

Continuing our theme of fire….this week we are finding out about Bonfire night and why we celebrate and remember November 5th. Who was Guy Fawkes?

 

Expressive Arts & Design

Fireworks

  • making firework pictures.
  • Crafting fireworks
  • Colouring

In music we are singing songs.

We are learning some dance moves with Emily too.


Week Commencing 19th October 2020

In Reception class this week we are ….

Maths

 

Representing and comparing 1, 2 and 3. We are identifying representations of 1, 2 and 3. Making collections of objects, matching number names to numerals and quantities. We are comparing amounts; one more and one less.

Floppy’s Phonics –

We are learning the sounds – ck   e   u

We are learning how to hold a pencil and write the letters down.

Communication & Language – Literacy

We are making up our own stories (just like the Little Red Hen) and drawing a map.

PSED (Personal, Social & Emotional Development)

 

Me and My Relationships.

My feelings  (2)

 

Understanding the World –  (Topic Tomorrow’s World)

Marvellous Middle – ‘A Journey Through Time’. We are looking at all the topic work from across the school.

We are showing our Tudor house bakery where the fire of London started and our Reception fire brigade display.

Expressive Arts & Design

Practising our cutting skills.

In music we are continuing with beat and tempo.

We are learning some dance moves with Emily too.


Week Commencing 12th October 2020

In Reception class this week we are ….

Maths

 

Exploring patterns. We are looking at and making patterns in a range of contexts including shapes, colours, sizes, actions and sounds.

Floppy’s Phonics –

We are learning the sounds – o   c    k 

We are learning how to hold a pencil and write the letters down.

Communication & Language – Literacy

We are continuing with our new story and turning it into a big book.

PSED (Personal, Social & Emotional Development)

 

Finding out ‘All About Me’.

My feelings

 

Understanding the World –  (Topic Tomorrow’s World)

Learning more about the job of the Fire Brigade. What else does a fireman do?

 

Expressive Arts & Design

Painting pictures of firemen and fire engines. Practising our cutting skills.

 

In music we are continuing with beat and tempo.

We are learning some dance moves with Emily too.


Week Commencing 5th October 2020

In Reception class this week we are ….

Maths

 

 

Making comparisons. Now that we have sorted different objects into sets we are going to compare the sets and order them.

 

Floppy’s Phonics –

We are learning the sounds – m   d   g.

We are learning how to hold a pencil and write the letters down.

Communication & Language – Literacy

 

Now we know the story of The Little Red Hen, we are going to make a new class story with different characters.

 

PSED (Personal, Social & Emotional Development)

Finding out ‘All About Me’.

People who can help me. Who has done something kind for someone?

 

Understanding the World –  (Topic Tomorrow’s World)

Learning more about the job of the Fire Brigade.

Expressive Arts & Design

Painting pictures of firemen and fire engines.

In music we are continuing with beat and tempo and learning some harvest songs.

 

We are learning some dance moves with Emily too.

 


Week Commencing 28th September 2020

In Reception class this week we are ….

Maths

Matching and sorting. Opportunities for finding and matching objects that are the same. Sorting collections of objects by colour, size and shape.

Floppy’s Phonics –

We are learning the sounds – p   i   n

Communication & Language – Literacy

We are continuing with The Little Red Hen. Learning the story off by heart with actions.

PSED (Personal, Social & Emotional Development)

Finding out ‘All About Me’.

My Special People

Understanding the World –  (Topic Tomorrow’s World)

Finding out about people who help us – Firemen.

Expressive Arts & Design

Painting pictures of firemen and fire engines.

In music we are continuing with beat and tempo and learning some harvest songs.


Week Commencing 21st September 2020

In Reception class this week we are ….

Maths

Continuing with counting songs and our magpie rhyme.

Floppy’s Phonics –

We are learning the sounds – s   a   t

Communication & Language – Literacy

This week our focus story is The Little Red Hen.

Learning the story off by heart with actions.

PSED (Personal, Social & Emotional Development)

Finding out ‘All About Me’.

What makes me special? What are my favourite things?

Understanding the World –  (Topic Tomorrow’s World)

This week we are having a look back in time and finding out about houses at the time of the Great Fire of London, how they are look and what they are made of.

Making a large model of a Tudor House.

Discussing Harvest Festival.

 

Expressive Arts & Design

This week we are making fire pictures.

Painting with yellow, red and orange.

In music we are continuing with beat and tempo and learning some harvest songs.


Week commencing 14 September 2020

In Reception class this week we are ….

Maths

Learning some counting songs and a rhyme about magpies.

Communication & Language – Literacy

This week our focus story is Can’t you Sleep Little Bear.

PSED (Personal, Social & Emotional Development)

Finding out ‘All About Me’. Things that make us the same, things that make us different. Things that we are good at and the things we like the best.

Understanding the World –  (Topic Tomorrow’s World)

This week we are having a look back in time and finding out a little bit about the Fire of London.

We are carrying on with our Autumn theme too.

Expressive Arts & Design

This week we are making pictures with Autumn leaves.

We are also making some collage magpies.

In music we are learning about beat and tempo


Week commencing 7/9/20

In Reception class this week we are ….

Settling into the class, getting to know each other, the routines of the class and the key times of the day.

We are looking at the seasons and Autumn in particular – the colours, the animals and the changes that take place. Can you find any autumn leaves and conkers?

What is happening to the trees and plants? Why?

Can you describe the weather?

We are reading Owl Babies and making baby owls for our display.