Year 1 Preview Learning Archive


20 June 2022

 

This week in Maths we will be finishing our work on Place Value. We will be partitioning two digit numbers into tens and ones, and then using this to order the numbers from greatest to smallest, and smallest to greatest. We will also be using 100 squares to find one more and one less than numbers to 100.

To support this work at home please visit:

Y1 Place-value-to-100.pdf

 

In English we will be continuing with our Talk for Writing unit on the story Billy the Brave Knight. We will be innovating the story to change the remaining characters and the ending.

We will then start to write this up as our own story, focussing on using capital letters for peoples names, correct punctuation and using our phonic knowledge to write unfamiliar words.

In Phonics we will be looking at the different ways to make f ( ph and gh) and ch, sh and k             (child, machine, character – ch making the sound k)

 

In our topic work we are making 3d maps of an imaginary town. Please can you send in any empty cardboard cereal boxes, or boxes of a similar size for a base for our models.

 

We look forward to seeing you at Sports Day on Friday. The house colours are Mars-red, Saturn –yellow, Neptune-blue, Jupiter-green.  If you need to check your child’s house colour I am available after school.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford, Mrs Whittaker and Mr Brown


13 June 2022

In Maths we are revisiting place value within 100. We will be looking at different representations of tens and ones, such as in tens frames and dienes, and then comparing the numbers using the terms more than, less than, equal to, most and least.

To support this work at home please use:

Y1 Place-value-to-100.pdf

 

In English we will be starting a Talk for Writing unit on the story Billy the Brave Knight. We will be learning the story by drawing it out as a story map.

We will be discussing the characters in the story and using adjectives to describe them. We will then start to innovate the story by changing the main character.

In Phonics we will be looking at the different ways to make w ( w, wh and –u) and f ( f and ff)

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford, Mrs Whittaker and Mr Brown


06 June 2022

 

In Maths we are focusing on position and direction. We will be following instructions on a map to go left, right, forwards and backwards, and to make full turns, half turns and quarter turns. We will also be programming beebots to follow these instructions to reach a specific destination.   We will then move on to look at shapes that have been rotated and identify if they have turned clockwise or anticlockwise.

To support this work at home please use:

 

Position-and-direction.pdf

In English we are linking in our topic work on the Brazilian Rainforest.

We will be using descriptive language to write about different conditions and animals that can be found in the Rainforest. We will also be looking at different sentences to decide if they are a question, an exclamation, a statement or a command and choosing the correct punctuation.

Over the course of the week I will be working with the children individually to complete their Phonics Test. They have all been working really hard in our whole class phonics work to practice the different sounds, and thank you again for practicing with your child at home. Normal phonics teaching with resume next week.

Mrs Clifford, Mrs Whittaker and Mr Brown


23 May 2022

In Maths we are continuing our work on fractions, this time looking at finding a quarter of a shape and quantity.

Y1-HL-Summer-Block-2-Fractions.pdf

 

In English we are preparing for the Queens Platinum Jubilee. We will be reading information about the Queen and using this to answer key questions.

We will be writing sentences to match pictures of royal events, and we will be planning what we would do if we were King or Queen for a day!

 

 

In Phonics we will be continuing with our practice phonics tests. Thank you very much for supporting your child at home. This week be the last practice test I will send home.

 

Many thanks for your continued support. Have a lovely half term.

Mrs Clifford, Mrs Whittaker and Mr Brown


16 May 2022

 


9 May 2022

In Maths we are introducing the children to fractions. This week we will be halving shapes and quantities. To support this unit at home please visit

Y1-HL-Summer-Block-2-Fractions.pdf

 

 

In English we are learning about the 1990’s. This is our decade for the Queens Platinum Jubilee celebrations.

We will be learning about music, children’s TV programmes and inventions during this time.

The children will be writing about these, composing their sentences orally before writing them down and re reading their work to check it makes sense,

 

 

In Topic we will be learning about Kenya and North America, and exploring some of their characteristics and features.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford, Mrs Whittaker and Mr Brown


09 May 2022

In Maths we are looking dividing groups of objects. This will be through sharing objects equally into groups.

 

Y1 Multiplication and division.pdf

 

 

In writing we will continue to focus on poetry. We will be looking at rhyming poems and thinking of alternative rhyming words that we could use.

In Phonics we will be revisiting ue and the different ways this can be made. We will continue to do lots of sounding out and blending of words, in preparation for our phonics test in June. Thank you for supporting your children at home with the practice tests. It really does help.

 

In Topic we will be learning about Australia. We will locate Australia on a world map, and will learn about some of its features and characteristics.

 

 

 

In Art we will be looking at Monet and his paintings on cityscapes.

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford, Mrs Whittaker and Mr Brown


03 May 2022

 

In Maths we are continuing with multiplication and division. We will be identifying equal and unequal groups of objects, and using equal groups of objects to make arrays. We will also be looking at doubles, and how to find the double of a number to 10. A link to this unit can be found at:

y1-hl-summer-block-1-multiplication-and-division-2020

 

In writing we will be focussing on poetry. We will listen to a number of poems throughout the week, and learn the poem Nut Tree by Julia Donaldson. We will then move on to writing our own list poem with a nature theme.

Our Library day has now changed. We are currently arranging times for the KS1 children to visit the library and when this has been confirmed I will let you know.

 

For this half term, every Friday I will send home a practice Phonics Test. If you are able to work through this with your child, and help them to sound out the words, it will really help their confidence and phonics recognition for the test in June.

 

In Topic we will be learning to name and identify the seven continents and five oceans.

Many thanks for your continued support,

The Year 1 Team

 


25 April 2022

Welcome back! We hope you had a lovely Easter holiday.

 

In Maths we are starting a unit on multiplication and division. We will start by revising counting in multiples of 2’s, 5’s and 10’s, and will be looking at problem solving questions using these multiplications. The link to this unit is

Y1 Multiplication-and-Division

If you would like a printed copy please let me know.

On Friday we will have our Stunning Start to our new topic Holidays.

In preparation for this we will be planning a trip, writing lists of things we need to pack, and we will be investigation one of the countries we will visit more closely. We will be researching interesting facts about China and sharing what we find with the rest of the class.

In Phonics we will be spending some extra time revising the split digraph a-e and i-e. This often comes up in the Year 1 Phonics Test and can be one that the children find more difficult to identify.

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

The Year 1 Team


04 April 2022

We are all very excited about our trip to Marwell Zoo on Monday! Please can your child be in school by 8.45 so that we can get ready and onto the coach to leave school at 9am. When we arrive we will be spending the first part of the morning looking around the zoo.

We will be doing lots of walking so please can the children have comfortable shoes, and if they have shoe laces, please can you help them practice tying them up if they come undone.

The majority of the day will be spent outside, so the children will also need a coat. The children will need to carry their lunch with them during the day. It’s much easier for them if they have a small rucksack with their lunch and a drink inside, rather than carrier bags. After lunch we have a workshop with the teaching staff at Marwell. It will be a really lovely day.

 

On Wednesday morning we will be going to the church for our Easter Service.

 

We will have some time to fit some work in this week! In English we will be writing a recount from our trip to the zoo, looking at sequencing events and using temporal connectives ( first, then, next, after that). In Phonics we will be looking at the different way to make zh ( s, si, ge)

In Maths we will be doing some Easter addition and subtraction, counting on using a number line.

Next week I will be sending home some practice Phonics Tests. It will really help your child if over the Easter holidays you could spend some time completing these. It will help your child to remember their phonics and get used to the test format. If you have any questions about this please do not hesitate to contact me.

We hope you all have a lovely Easter break.

 

Mrs Clifford, Mrs Whittaker and Mrs Warkup


28 March 2022

In Maths this week we are consolidating the units we have covered over the last few weeks.

We will be revisiting problem solving in addition and subtraction, counting in steps of 2, 5 and 10, and we will be looking at recognising different coins.

 

 

In English we are looking at using capital letters for the names of people, places and for the pronoun I. We will also be spending some time on our comprehension skills, ensuring that we are understanding what we have read and can identify the main facts and events.

In Phonics we will be looking at different ways of making u (u, o, -ou, -ough) and ar (ar, al, a)

 

In our Topic work we will be looking at plants and animals in an unfamiliar habitat, and also looking at micro habitats.  

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford, Mrs Whittaker and Mrs Warkup

 


21 March 2022

In Maths we will be learning about capacity and volume.

We will be measuring the capacity of different objects, and comparing the volume of these objects using the greater than and less than symbols. We will then move on to word problems such as ‘If one bottle fills 5 glasses, how many glasses will 3 bottles fill?’

If you would like to practice this at home please visit https://assets.whiterosemaths.com/fixed/wrm/2020/07/Y1-HL-Spring-Block-4-Mass-and-capacity-2020.pdf

 

In English we are going to use our plans from last week to write up a fact sheet about our imaginary animals. We are concentrating on using interesting vocabulary and deciding on an amazing fact about our animal. We will also start to write our names in joined up handwriting.

 

In Phonics we will be looking at the different ways to make the ur sound (ur, ir, er, ear, or, -re, -our) We are also starting to look more closely at real words and alien words in preparation for our phonics test.

In our Topic work we will be continuing our focus on what makes a habitat suitable for certain animals, and we will be looking more closely at seaside habitats.

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford, Mrs Whittaker and Mrs Warkup


14 February 2022

 

In Maths we will be learning about mass and weight. We will be using balance scales to compare the mass of different objects, and we will be estimating and weighing objects to find how many cubes they weigh.

 

If you would like to practice this at home please visit https://assets.whiterosemaths.com/fixed/wrm/2020/07/Y1-HL-Spring-Block-4-Mass-and-capacity-2020.pdf

There is also a link for this on the Year 1 webpage.  If you would like a printed copy please let me know.

 

In English we will using our recent topic work to create our own imaginary animal. We will then start to plan a piece of information writing about our imaginary animal, including what it eats, where it lives, and some interesting facts about it!

In Phonics we will be looking at the different ways to make the or sound (or, our, aw, au, al, ar)

 

In our Topic work we will be learning about carnivores, herbivores and omnivores.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford, Mrs Whittaker and Mrs Warkup


07 March 2022

This week we are continuing our work on measuring and comparing length and height. We will also be looking at addition and subtracting measuring problems.

If you would like to practice this at home please visit https://assets.whiterosemaths.com/fixed/wrm/2020/07/Y1-HL-Spring-Block-3-Length-and-height-2020.pdf

There is also a link for this on the Year 1 webpage.

 

In English we will using ICT to find out information about nocturnal animals, and writing down interesting facts we find out to share with the class.

We will then be using information books and sheets to make our own nocturnal animal fact sheets.

 

In Phonics we will be looking at the different ways to make the oi sound ( oi and oy) and ou ( ow, ou, ough)

In our Topic work we will be learning about the differences between fish and amphibians.

In art we will be continuing our focus on the work of Henri Rousseau, particularly his use of flowers and leaves. We will try leaf printing.

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford, Mrs Whittaker and Mrs Warkup

 


28 February 2022

This week we are starting a new unit in Maths. We will recap measuring length and height in non standard units that was taught in Reception, and will introduce measuring in centimetres using a ruler. We will talk about the importance of accuracy when using a ruler to measure the length and height of different objects.

 

If you would like to practice this at home please visit https://assets.whiterosemaths.com/fixed/wrm/2020/07/Y1-HL-Spring-Block-3-Length-and-height-2020.pdf

 

In English we will be writing our half term holiday news, focussing on using the Year 1 Common Exception words and re reading our work to check it makes sense. We will also be celebrating World Book Day on Thursday by writing clues for the other children to guess our favourite book characters.

 

Year 1 children need to know how to spell the days of the week.  Over half term please help them learn to spell these as we will have a short spelling test on Wednesday.

 

In Phonics we will be looking at the different ways to make the long oo sound ( oo, u-e, -o, -ou, -ue, -ew, -ui, -u)  

 In our Topic work we will learning about reptiles, birds and mammals. In Art we will be learning about Henri Rousseau, in particular his painting ‘Surprise, Tiger in a Tropical Storm’.

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford, Mrs Whittaker and Mrs Warkup


14 February 2022

 

This week we have reached the Marvellous Middle in our Amazing Animals topic. We have mainly been learning about humans and the importance of healthy eating, exercise and hygiene. This week we are going to be making a healthy snack that the children will bring home to try.

 

This is our last week looking at place value within numbers 0-50. We will be ordering numbers within this range from smallest to biggest, and biggest to smallest. We will be practicing our counting in multiples of 2 and 10, and beginning to count in multiples of 5. After half term we will be moving onto measuring and comparing length and height.

 

 

In English we will be focussing on the importance of hygiene. We will be carrying out a science experiment to show how germs can be transmitted by touch, and then writing instructions on how to wash our hands properly.

Our Common Exception Words are house, our, here and where. In Phonics we will be looking at the different ways to make yoo ( u, -eu,, ew, eu, u-e)

We hope you all have a lovely half term.

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford, Mrs Whittaker and Mrs Warkup


07 February 2022

In Maths we are working within numbers 0-50. We will be continuing to count forwards and backwards from any given number, and use our mental maths skills to quickly identify one more than and one less than any given number within this range. We will also be working on using the <, > and = signs to show the place value of two different numbers.

Y1 Place-value-within-50

 

In English we are focusing on comprehension skills. We will be looking at a number of short stories and answering questions as we read it. These question may include ‘What sort of character is……….’, ‘What do you think may happen next?’ ‘How do you think the story will end?’ The children will complete their own reading comprehensions and focus on answering the questions in full sentences. We will also be looking at adding the suffix er and est when there is no change to the spelling of the root word.

Our Common Exception Words pull, full, push and put. In Phonics we will be looking at the different ways to make ul ( le, el, il, al)

In our Topic work we are looking at the importance for humans of eating the right amounts of different types of food.

 

In DT we will be using our design to make our own moving picture.

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford, Mrs Whittaker and Mrs Warkup


31 January 2022

We are returning to Place Value within Maths, and extending this to numbers between 0-50. We will be counting forwards and backwards from any given number between 0 and 50. We will be looking at the place value of the two digit numbers, so that we can identify the number of tens and ones within the number.  We will also be practicing counting forwards and backwards in steps of 10.

  Place-value-within-50

 

In English we are continuing with the story The Enormous Crocodile by Roald Dahl.

In our writing we will be describing the Clever Tricks thought of by The Enormous Crocodile, and thinking about why his plans did not succeed.

Our Common Exception Words are once, ask, friend and school. In Phonics we will be looking at the different ways to make j ( j, ge, gi, gy, -ge and dge)

 

In our Topic work we are looking at the importance of exercise, and how our bodies feel before and after exercise.

 

In DT we will be designing our own moving picture.

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford, Mrs Whittaker and Mrs Warkup

 


24 January 2022

 

In Maths we are concluding our unit on addition and subtraction. We will be looking at using subtraction to make comparisons between numbers. We will also be comparing addition and subtraction number sentences to find out with answer is greater then, less than or equal to each other. A link to the whiterose booklet to support this unit at home can be found on the Year 1 webpage.

 

In English we are focussing on the story The Enormous Crocodile by Roald Dahl. We will be using adjectives to describe the main characters in the story and decide which one is our favourite character.

Over the last few weeks I have been working with the children on their Year 1 Common Exception Words. During the week I will be sending home a highlighted list of the words they are able to read confidently on sight. The words that are not highlighted are the ones your child is still working on. These will be in their red Phonics folder.

In our Topic work we are looking at how animals including humans reproduce to stay alive. We will be looking at how most mammals give birth to live young which they can feed with milk, and how most reptiles lay eggs.

 

 

In DT we will be making a wheel mechanism to make a moving picture.  

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford, Mrs Whittaker and Mrs Warkup


17 January 2022

 

In Maths we are focussing on subtraction. We will be looking at different ways to work out subtraction calculations, using a tens frame, part whole models and counting back on a number line. A link to the whiterose booklet to support this unit at home can be found on the Year 1 webpage.  

 

 

 In English we will be continuing to learn about instructions. We will look at imperative verbs ( bossy verbs) and how we can include these in our instruction writing.  We have also started our visits to the school library again. Our library day is still Tuesday, so please ensure your child brings their library book into school every Tuesday so they can swap it for a new one.

 

In Phonics we are learning the different ways to make the sound s ( s, ss, se, ce, ci, cy), Thank you for supporting your child in writing a sentence using s words at home.  This really does help the children to be more secure in their learning of phonics.

 

 In our Topic work we are looking at the basic needs of animals including humans for survival.

 

In DT we will be using a lever and pivot to make a moving picture.

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford, Mrs Whittaker and Mrs Warkup


10 January 2022

In Maths we are focussing on addition and subtraction within 20. We will begin by recapping on addition by counting on from a number using a number line.

We will then look at addition using our understanding of place value, using a tens frame, part whole model and a bar chart. 

 

To support your childs learning at home please visit : Y1-HL-Spring-Block-1-Addition-and-subtraction-within-20-2020.pdf (whiterosemaths.com)

 

In English we will be looking at writing instructions. We will be making jam sandwiches (and eating them!) and then writing up instructions for someone else to follow.

We will be focussing on the sequence of our instructions, and using temporal connectives (first, then, next, after that and finally). The children will also have a go at writing up their own instructions on how to wash your hands.

 

In Phonics we are learning the different ways to make the sound oa ( oa, ow, o, oe, o-e, ough, eau) Thank you for supporting your child in writing a sentence using oa words at home.  This really does help the children to be more secure in their learning of phonics.

 

In our Topic work we are looking at Our Body. We will be labelling different parts of our body (arms, hand, ankle, chest) and looking at which body part we use for different activities (running, waving etc)

Our DT project this half term is making a moving picture. We will begin this week by looking at length of handles and how best to attach this to a picture.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford, Mrs Whittaker and Mrs Warkup


05 January 2022

Welcome Back!
We hope you had a lovely Christmas.

 

 

In Maths we are consolidating our learning from the last few weeks before Christmas before moving on. We will be revisiting place value, and the properties of solid shapes (number of faces, curved or straight edges and vertices)

 

 

In English we will be using our Talk for Writing story maps to recount what we did on Christmas Day. We will plan it out using pictures and will then write this up in simple sentences, using temporal connectives ( first, then, next, after that and finally).

We will recap on capital letters and finger spaces

 

Our new topicAmazing Animals will we introduced to the children.

We will be discussing garden birds and in particular, the Robin. Each child will make a bird feeder that we will then hang in our outside area and field to feed the birds over winter.

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford, Mrs Whittaker and Mrs Warkup

 Click here to see what we did in previous weeks

 


06 December 2021

In Maths we will be comparing groups of objects and numbers and talking about more than, less than and equal to. We will be ordering sets of numbers too.

If you would like to practice at home what we have been learning about in school, then please use the workbook on the WhiteRose Maths website. 

https://wrm-13b48.kxcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/Y1-HL-Autumn-Block-4-Place-value-within-20-2020.pdf Question 5 onwards supports the learning this week. If you require a printed version please let me know.

 

In phonics we are looking at the /igh/ sound and the different ways we can spell it. –igh, -y, -i, -ie, -i-e)

In English we are writing sentences based on the Christmas story and Christmas traditions.

 

In Art and Design we will be finishing our sculpture work and also doing some Christmas activities.

We are still working hard on the KS1 Nativity and are learning all of the songs.

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford, Mrs Whittaker and Mrs Warkup


29 November 2021

 

For the next two weeks in Maths we are looking at Place Value. We will practice counting on and back from different numbers within 20, and identifying the number of tens and ones in a two digit number. We will also be solving number problems using tens and ones.

If you would like to practice at home what we have been learning about in school, then please use the workbook on the WhiteRose Maths website. https://wrm-13b48.kxcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/Y1-HL-Autumn-Block-4-Place-value-within-20-2020.pdf This supports the unit I will be teaching over the next two weeks. If you require a printed version please let me know.

 

In English we are looking at adding s or es to make a word plural, and writing sentences using both endings. In Phonics we are looking at the different ways to make ee ( ee, y, e, ey, ie, e-e, ea)

We are working very hard on the KS1 Nativity and have learnt all of the songs and dances. We will continue to practice this week and will be trying on our costumes!

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford, Mrs Whittaker and Mrs Warkup


22 November 2021

 

In Maths we are revisiting flat and solid shapes. We will be looking at their properties, and sorting them in different ways. If you would like to practice at home what we have been learning about in school, then please use the workbook on the WhiteRose Maths website

https://wrm-13b48.kxcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/Y1-HL-Autumn-Block-3-Shape-2020.pdf

This supports the shape unit I will be teaching this week. If you require a printed version please let me know.

 

In English we are going to be looking at poetry. We will be reading and discussing lots of different poems, and then focussing in on rhyming poems. We will spend some time identifying rhyming words and will then use these in our own piece of poetry. 

 

Our Phonics is now changing as we move into Stage 5 sounds. We will now look at multiple ways of making the same sound. For example this week we are concentrating on ai and the eight different ways you can make it ( ai, -ay, eigh, -ey, a-e, a, -ae, -ea) !

Each sheet we complete will now last 2 sessions. In session 1 we will still focus on sounding out and reading the words, and in session 2 we will read through a short passage and identify all of the different words containing the ai spellings. There will still be a short section that you can complete at home. This really does help the children to be more secure in their learning of phonics.

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford, Mrs Whittaker and Mrs Warkup


15 November 2021

In Maths we are continuing with subtraction, but focussing on finding the difference between two numbers. We will be using the bar model to help us. We will also be comparing addition and subtraction number sentences using the words greater than, less than and equals to. For example, 9 is greater than 2+4 and 9 is greater than 8-1.

 

The children have been working really hard on writing their own version of The Three Little Pigs. 

This week we will be finishing this writing by changing the ending to the story, and writing this in our books using capital letters, finger spaces and an exclamation mark.

 

In Phonics we will be looking at different ways to make the sound u (u and o) and ed (ed as in played, t as in dropped)

In our Topic work we will be designing a new house for the 3 little pigs to live in. We will focus on what materials we need, what tools we need, how we will join the different parts together, and how we will decorate the house.


On Friday we will continue with our sculpture and we will be looking at the Artist Michelle Reader. We will be using sponges to create different creatures. 

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford, Mrs Whittaker and Mrs Warkup

 


08 November 2021

 

In Maths we are moving onto subtraction. We will look at different subtraction methods, including taking away by crossing out, counting backwards on a number line, and using the part part whole model to find our answers.

 In our English lessons we are continuing with the story of The Three Little Pigs.

We are now going to begin to write up our story, using our own characters and our own materials for the houses. We will begin by writing our ideas as a class and then the children will contiue this in their small groups.

In Phonics we will be looking at different ways to make the sound ear (ear and eer) and air (air and are). Our library day is Tuesday, so please can your child bring their library book back into school so it can be swapped for a new one.

 

In our Topic work we will continue to look at everyday materials. We will explore the properties of some materials and sort them into groups.


We are also going to be enjoying some Children in Need activities on Friday.

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford, Mrs Whittaker and Mrs Warkup


 


18 October 2021

We have a very busy week ahead, with our Marvellous Middle for our topic on Monday, and our visit to the Church for Harvest Festival on Thursday. However we will still have time to fit in Maths, English and Phonics!

 

In Maths we will continue our work with number bonds to 10, and will begin looking at addition number stories. We will be using the addition and equals signs to write out our calculations.

If you would like to practice at home what we have been learning about in school, then please use the workbook on the WhiteRose Maths website  https://wrm-13b48.kxcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/Y1-HL-Autumn-Block-2-Addition-and-subtraction-within-10-2020.pdf This supports the Addition and Subtraction unit I will be teaching over the next few weeks, so please do not feel this has to be completed all in one go. A few pages each week following the information in this Learning Preview will be fine.  If you require a printed version please let me know.

 

In our English lessons we will be thinking about things we have that we are thankful for. We will write this up as a sentence and use the word ‘because’ to give reasons for our choices.

Our library days is Tuesday, so please can your child bring their library book back into school so it can be swapped for a new one.

In Phonics we will be looking at different ways to make the sound ur (ur and ir) and or (or and aw) We hope you all have a lovely half term break.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford, Mrs Whittaker and Mrs Warkup


11 October 2021

In Maths this week we will be focussing on adding two small numbers. We will be using lots of different methods to show addition, including the part part whole model and bar charts. We will also start to look at number bonds to 10.  

If you would like to practice at home what we have been learning about in school, then please use the workbook on the WhiteRose Maths website  https://wrm-13b48.kxcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/Y1-HL-Autumn-Block-2-Addition-and-subtraction-within-10-2020.pdf This supports the Addition and Subtraction unit I will be teaching over the next few weeks, so please do not feel this has to be completed all in one go. A few pages each week following the information in this Learning Preview will be fine.  If you require a printed version please let me know.

 

In our English lessons we will be looking at the past tense and adding –ed to a word (where there is no change to the spelling of the root word). We will be thinking of sentences using these words, and writing them using our phonic knowledge and Common Exception Words.  

Well done to all of the children that have written out book reviews. I have entered them into the competition to win a book token.

 

The children went to the school library on Tuesday and all chose a library book to enjoy at home. On Tuesdays please can they bring their book back into school so it can be swapped for a new one.

 

In Phonics we will be looking at different ways to make the sound oo (oo and ew) and ow (ow and ou)

In Topic/DT we are continuing to build our castles following our design.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford, Mrs Whittaker and Mrs Warkup


04 October 2021

In Maths this week we will be moving onto addition and subtraction. We will be using the part-part whole model as a simple pictorial representation of the relationships between numbers. We will be doing this practically using objects and then will begin to record this using numbers.

 

If you would like to practice at home what we have been learning about in school, then please use the workbook on the WhiteRose Maths website  https://wrm-13b48.kxcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/Y1-HL-Autumn-Block-2-Addition-and-subtraction-within-10-2020.pdf This supports the Addition and Subtraction unit I will be teaching over the next few weeks, so please do not feel this has to be completed all in one go. A few pages each week following the information in this Learning Preview will be fine.  If you require a printed version please let me know.

In our English lessons we will be focussing on sentence structure. We will use pictures to think of and write our own sentences, using capital letters and full stops.

We will also be looking at adding the prefix ‘un’ to words to change their meaning, and will be writing sentences using these words. Our Common Exception words this week are be, he, me, she and we.

 

In Phonics we will be looking at two ways to make the sound oa (oa and ow) and ue (ue and ew)

In Topic/DT we are going to start building our castles following our design.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford, Mrs Whittaker and Mrs Warkup


27 September 2021

In Maths this week we will be continuing to focus on the value of number.

We will be comparing numbers to determine which number is greater than or less than the other, and we will introduce the mathematical signs of <, > and =. We will then move on to ordering three or more numbers from smallest to greatest, and greatest to smallest.

 

In our English lessons we will be continuing to write up our changes to The Very Hungry Caterpillar. We will be looking at sentence structure, and trying to develop a ‘have a go attitude’ with the children when they are writing new and unfamiliar words. We will also write a book review for The Very Hungry Caterpillar. As you may have seen from the Newsletter we are encouraging the children to do this when they have finished a book. If you would like your child to do this at home when they have finished a story, the book review template that we will use is on the Year 1 page on the school website.

In Phonics we will be looking at two ways to make the sound ee (ee and ea) and igh (igh and ie)

In our Topic work we will be learning about how castles were designed, and looking at famous British castles.

For DT we will then begin to design our own castle we would like to make.

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford, Mrs Whittaker and Mrs Warkup


20 September 2021

 

In Maths we are continuing to focus on place value. This will include finding one less than a number, and comparing numbers using the vocabulary greater than, less than and equal to.

 

If you would like to practice at home what we have been learning about in school, then please use the workbook on the WhiteRose Maths website  Place-value-within-10This supports the Place Unit unit that I will be teaching over the next few weeks, so please do not feel this has to be completed all in one go. A few pages each week following the information in this Learning Preview will be fine.

In our English lessons we will be looking at the story of The Very Hungry Caterpillar. We will make our own changes to the middle of the story, and then write these up as simple sentences, using our phonic knowledge and trying our best to remember finger spaces and full stops!

In Phonics we will be looking at two ways to make the sound ai (ai and ay) and oi (oi and oy) A big well done to all of the children that are completing the phonics sheets at home. This will really help the children to learn the sounds.

In our Topic work we will be learning about the Queen’s Coronation.

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford, Mrs Whittaker and Mrs Warkup


13 September 2021

 

In Maths this week we will be focussing on place value. This will include recognising numbers written in numerals and words, counting forwards and backwards, and finding one more than a given number. 

 

If you would like to practice at home what we have been learning about in school, then please use the workbook on the WhiteRose Maths website  https://wrm-13b48.kxcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/Y1-HL-Autumn-Block-1-Place-value-within-10-2020.pdf 

This supports the Place Unit unit I will be teaching over the next few weeks, so please do not feel this has to be completed all in one go. A few pages each week following the information in this Learning Preview will be fine.

In our English lessons we will be focussing on writing labels and captions using our phonics skills.

We will be working on correct letter formation and ensuring the letters are sitting correctly on the line.

 

In Phonics we will be revisiting the long and short oo sound, and ar, or, ur and er.

 

In our Topic work we will be learning about our Queen and putting together her family tree.

Finally our DT project this half term is making models of a castles. Please can you send in any empty cereal boxes we can use.

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford, Mrs Whittaker and Mrs Warkup