Year 1 Preview Learning Archive

Year 1 Preview Learning: 2nd March 2020

In Maths this week we will solving one-step multiplication problems by calculating the answer using objects, pictures and arrays.

In Phonics we will be learning the different ways of making ur – ir, er, ear (i.e learn), or (I,e work) -re, -our (i.e colour)

In our English lessons we will be using adjectives to describe the main characters in the story of The Enormous Crocodile.

We will be continuing our Friday spelling test which will help the children to correctly spell the Year 1 Common Exception Words. This week our words are do, his, go and once. For our more confident writers we will ask the children to write a sentence containing these words. We will also be starting weekly visits to our school library where your child can borrow a book and bring it home to enjoy with you. We will let you know next week which day your child will be visiting the library.

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford and Mrs Ahmed


24th February 2020

In Maths this week we will be focussing on making connections between arrays, number patterns and counting in 2’s, 5’s and 10’s.

In Phonics we will be learning the different ways of making or (or, -our, aw, au, al, war)

 

In our English lessons we will be sharing the story of The Enormous Crocodile, and changing the middle part of the story.

 

On Friday mornings we will be having a short spelling test which will help the children to correctly spell the Year 1 Common Exception Words. This week our words are the, is, no and one. For our more confident writers we will ask the children to write a sentence containing these words.

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford and Mrs Ahmed

 


10th February 2020

This week we are having a cross curricular week based around designing and making healthy pizzas.

We will be asking other classes about their favourite pizzas, and representing this information in tally charts and pictograms.

We will be choosing our own pizza toppings, and creating our own pizza company name and logo.

At the end of the week I will send home a list of the pizza toppings your child has chosen to use on their pizza. Week beginning the 24th February I will let you know which date these will need to be bought into school. For further information please see last weeks Newsletter.

In Phonics we will be focussing on the different ways to make oi (oi and oy) and ou ( ow, ou and ough)

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford and Mrs Ahmed

 


3rd February 2020

In Maths this week we will be focussing on number facts, particularly addition and the related subtraction facts.

  We will also be solving number problems.

In Phonics we will be learning the different ways of making the long oo sound(u-e, -o, -ou, -ue, -ew, -ui,-u) Our Common Exception words are go, so, by, my.

 

In our English lessons we will be revisiting instruction writing, focussing on bossy verbs, the use of a comma in a list and numbered bullet points.    

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford and Mrs Ahmed

 


Year 1 Preview Learning: 27th January 2020

In Maths this week we will recapping measuring length and height in non standard units, and introducing measuring with a ruler in centimetres. We will also be comparing and ordering lengths.

In Phonics we will be learning the different ways of making the sound yoo (u, u-e, ew, u-e, eu) Our Common Exception words are push, put and pull.

In our English lessons we will be learning about compound words, and changing the meaning of a word by using the prefix ‘un’

See the source image

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford and Mrs Ahmed

 


Year 1 Preview Learning: 20th January 2020

In Maths this week we will be continuing with time challenges, ordering o’clock and half past times from earliest to latest, and finding the number of hours between two different times.

In Phonics we will be learning the different ways of making the sound ul (-al and –il) and yoo (u and –ue)

In our English lessons we will be learning about imperative (bossy verbs) when writing instructions and using bullet points in lists

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford and Mrs Ahmed

 


Year 1 Preview Learning: 13h January 2020

In Maths this week we will be recapping on o’clock and half past times and completing some time challenges.

In Phonics we will be learning the different ways of making the sound J ( j, ge, gi, gy, ge and dge)

 

In our English lessons we will be continuing to focus on writing a recount using temporal connectives (first, then, next, after, after that, finally) and our common exception words are is, his, has, I, was.

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford and Mrs Ahmed

 


Year 1 Preview Learning: 6th January 2020

During the first week back after the Christmas holidays, we will be focussing on Shape, Space and Measure. This will involve sequencing days of the week, Seaons of the Year and Months of the Year, and using appropriate Mathematical vocabulary.
In Phonics we will be revising the sounds

In our English lessons we will be planning and writing a recount of our Christmas holidays, with a focus on reading through our work to check our spelling and punctuation, and making corrections where necessary.

We will also be starting Guided Reading sessions. This will involve the children reading in small groups with myself or Mrs Ahmed allowing us to support the children in reading a variety of texts, and discussing key elements of the story. Follow up work involves the children completing comprehension activities to develop their understanding of what they have read.

Our new Topic will be Alive! Further information on this will follow.

Many thanks for your continued support, and we would like to wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.
Mrs Clifford and Mrs Ahmed

 


Year 1 Preview Learning: 2nd December 2019

This week in maths we will be recapping on addition and subtraction and place value.

In Phonics we will be revisiting the sounds we have focussed on this term, and reviewing our Common Exception Words.
In our English lessons we will be focussing on handwriting, and independently writing stories.

The children will also be practicing their songs and dances for our Nativity.

Many thanks for your continued support,
Mrs Clifford and Mrs Ahmed

 


Year 1 Preview Learning: 25th November 2019

This week in maths we will be focusing on addition and subtraction facts to 10, and solving addition and subtraction word problems.

In Phonics we will be learning the different ways to make s ( -se, -ce, s, -ss, ce, ci, and cy)In your child’s folder you will see the Year 1 Common Exception words sheet. The children know these as their ‘fish words’. If the words are coloured in then your child can read these words. Please can you support your child in learning to read and then spell these common exception words.

The common exception words that we will be learning this week are askfriendschoolhouse.

In our English lessons we will be focussing on writing the middle of our Traditional Tale.

Many thanks for your continued support,
Mrs Clifford and Mrs Ahmed

 


Year 1 Preview Learning: 19th November 2019

This week in maths we will be focusing on addition and subtraction, and solving missing number problems.

In Phonics we will be learning the different ways to make **********

The common exception words that we will be learning this week are lovecomesomeoneonce.
In our English lessons we will be focussing on understanding the structure of a traditional tale, and beginning to write our own traditional tales.

Many thanks for your continued support,
Mrs Clifford and Mrs Ahmed

 


Year 1 Preview Learning: 11th November 2019

This week in maths we will be focusing on place value, particularly tens and ones.

In Phonics we will be learning the different ways to make igh (igh, i, y, ie, and i-e) Thank you for helping your child at home to write a sentence with a word or words containing the focus sounds.

The common exception words that we will be learning this week are herethere and where.

In our English lessons we will be writing Planet Poems, writing about what we can see, feel, taste, touch and hear when we land on a different planet.

Many thanks for your continued support,
Mrs Clifford and Mrs Ahmed

 


Year 1 Preview Learning: 4th November 2019

This week in maths Year 1 will be revisiting counting in steps of 2, and introducing counting in steps of 5 and 10.

In Phonics we will be learning the different ways to make ai and ee. Our Phonics sheets are now quite different. Please can you support your child at home by helping them to write a sentence with a word or words containing the focus sounds.

The common exception words that we will be learning this week are hearseefeeltastesmell

In our English lessons we will be writing shape poems on fireworks, and using describing words ending in ss and zz.

Many thanks for your continued support,
Mrs Clifford and Mrs Ahmed

 


Year 1 Preview Learning: 21st October 2019

Next week in Maths we will be recalling addition facts to 10, and working out the corresponding subtraction facts

( i.e 4-1=3, 3+1=4)

In Phonics we will be practicing the alternative spellings we have been learning this half term.

The common exception words that we will be learning this week are the,  a,  do,  to,  today

In our English lessons we will have lots of opportunities to practice our handwriting through writing sentences about our half term plans and our favourite subjects in Year 1.

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford and Mrs Ahmed


Year 1 Preview Learning: 14th October 2019

Next week in maths Year 1 will be recapping on positional and directional language, including left and right, full, quarter and half turns, moving onto giving instructions to beebots to follow specific directions.

In Phonics next week we will be revising the sounds s, e, u and ed (d) and its alternative spellings ce, ea, o ( as in onion) and ed (t).

The common exception words that we will be learning this week are you, your, they, and our.

In our English lessons we will be writing sentences about our trip to Ufton Court using words ending in –ed, and joining our sentences together using connectives.

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford and Mrs Ahmed

 


Year 1 Preview Learning: 7th October 2019

Next week in maths Year 1 will be recapping on flat and solid shapes. We will be revisiting the correct names for these shapes, sorting shapes and describing their properties.

In Phonics next week we will be revising the sound…….. and its alternative spellings ………..

The common exception words that we will be learning this week are said, says, are, and were.

In our English lessons we will be learning writing words ending in ed and beginning to understand that they represent the past tense of a verb.

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Clifford and Mrs Ahmed