Year 1 Preview Learning Archive

 

 


28 November 2022

In Maths we are moving on to flat and solid shapes. We will be identifying these shapes, and learning about their properties including the number of sides, corners and faces they have.

If you would like to practice at home what we have been learning about in school, then please use the workbook below

Y1 – Shapes.pdf

 

In English we are looking at poems with repeating patterns and rhymes. We will enjoy a range of different poems and will then look at writing our own verse using rhyming words.

In Phonics we will be learning the different ways to make the long oo sound. These are u-e, o, ou, -ue, -ew, -ui, and –u.

If you have any questions please do not hesitate to speak to me after school.

Kind regards

Mrs Clifford and Mrs Whittaker


21 November 2022

In Maths we are going to spend this week consolidating our work on number bonds to 10, and addition and subtraction using a number line. This will enable the children to become more confident in recalling number bonds, and using number lines more accurately.

If you would like to practice at home what we have been learning about in school, then please use the workbook on the WhiteRose Maths website

Y1 – Addition and subtraction within 10.pdf

 

In English we are returning to our Talk for Writing story, The Three Little Pigs. We have inovated the beginning of the story by changing the characters, the baddie character and the materials used to build the houses. We have also changed the ending. We will now move on to writing this in full setences, using our phonic knowledge to sound out unfamiliar words, and reading our work back to check it makes sense.

In Phonics we will be learning the different ways to make the sound u (yoo). These are u, ue, ew, u-e and eu.

If you have any questions please do not hesitate to speak to me after school.

Kind regards

Mrs Clifford and Mrs Whittaker


14 November 2022

This is the final week on addition and subtraction before we move onto shape. We will be subtracting by crossing out pictures and counting back on a number line.

If you would like to practice at home what we have been learning about in school, then please use the workbook on the WhiteRose Maths website

Y1 – Addition and subtraction within 10

 

In English we will pause our Talk for Unit focus on The Three Little Pigs and we will focus on writing a recount on our visit to Milestones. We will be using time related words including first, next, after that, and finally, and using our phonic knowledge to sound out and write unfamiliar words.

In Phonics we will be learning the different ways to make the sound ul ( le, el, al and il)

If you have any questions please do not hesitate to speak to me after school.

Kind regards

Mrs Clifford and Mrs Whittaker


07 November 2022

In Maths we are focusing on subtracting two one digit numbers. We will then move onto subtraction problems, in particular finding a missing part from a part whole model.

For example ‘There are some red and blue crayons in a box. 6 of the crayons are red. There are 8 crayons in total. How many are blue?’

To help the children learn their number bonds to 10 we are singing a song on Youtube called Making Ten ( number bonds to 10 song) Mr Chris. If possible please practice this song at home with your child to help them recall these number facts.

Y1 – Addition and subtraction within 10

 

In English we are starting our next Talk for Writing story, The Three Little Pigs. This week we will be innovating the story by changing key characters, materials used to build their houses and the story ending. We will also begin to box up our changes to the beginning, build up and problem sections of the story.

In Phonics we will be learning the different ways to make the sound j (ge, gi, gy, -ge, dge)

If you have any questions please do not hesitate to speak to me after school.

Kind regards

Mrs Clifford and Mrs Whittaker


01 November 2022

In Maths we are continuing with addition. We are looking at different ways of adding two numbers together including using a tens frame and counting on on a number line. We are also looking at number stories and interepting the calculation that needs to be done.

If you would like to practice at home what we have been learning about in school, then please use the workbook

Y1 – Addition and subtraction within 10

 

 

In English we will be looking at adding the suffixes ‘er’ and ‘est’ to change the meaning of a word. We will be writing sentences using these words, focussing on re reading our work to check it makes sense.

In Phonics we will be learning the different ways to make the sound s ( sc and st) and e ( e and ea)

 

We will be starting a new Science topic focussing on everyday materials.

If you have any questions please do not hesitate to speak to me after school.

Kind regards

Mrs Clifford and Mrs Whittaker


17 October 2022

Our Maths work this week continues with addition. We will be focussing on fact families and leading onto number bonds to 10.

 

Y1 – Addition and subtraction within 10

 

 

In English we will be finishing our topic work on The Great Fire of London. We will be writing a review of all of the key facts that we have learned over the last 6 weeks. We will be concentrating on using our phonics to write unfamiliar words, and rereading our work to check if we need to make any changes.

After half term we will be starting a Science topic on Everyday Materials.

In Phonics we will be working with the children individually to identify any Stage 5 sounds they are struggling with, and on their ability to segment and blend shorter and longer words. I will send these home at the end of the week for you to review with your child.

If you have any questions please do not hesitate to speak to me after school.

Kind regards

Mrs Clifford and Mrs Whittaker


10 October 2022

In maths this week we begin our unit on addition and subtraction within 10. We will be learning about the Part Part Whole Model, breaking down a whole number into its two parts. We will do lots of practical work adding together the two parts to find a whole, and then will move onto writing these as number sentences using the addition and equals sign.

If you would like to practice at home what we have been learning about in school, then please use the workbook on the WhiteRose Maths website

 

Y1-HL-Autumn-Block-2-Addition-and-subtraction-within-10-2020

In English we will be changing the tense of words by adding ‘ed’ and ‘ing’ where there is no change to the spelling of the root word. We will then be thinking of sentences using these words and writing them using our knowledge of phonics and punctuation. We will also be recapping on Harvest Festival and writing sentences about the things that we are thankful for.

In Phonics we will be learning the different ways to make the sound s ( se, ce, s, ss, ce, cy, ci)

If you have any questions please do not hesitate to speak to me after school.

Kind regards

Mrs Clifford and Mrs Whittaker


03 October 2022

This is our final week focussing on place value. We will be ordering three or four numbers from biggest to smallest, and smallest to biggest. We will also be using a number line to find numbers that are more than or less than another number.

If you would like to practice at home what we have been learning about in school, then please use the workbook below

 

Y1 – Place value within 10

The children really enjoyed boxing up the different parts of The Magic Porridge Pot story. This week we are going to be focussing on writing up the beginning and the problem. The children will be encouraged to say their sentences out loud and then write them down using capital letters, spaces and full stops. The children will also be supported in re reading what they have written to check that it makes sense.

We will also be looking at changing the meaning of words using the ‘un’ prefix.

In Phonics we will be learning the different ways to make the sound oa ( oa, ow, o, oe, o-e, ough, eau)

If you have any questions please do not hesitate to speak to me after school.

Kind regards

Mrs Clifford and Mrs Whittaker


26 September 2022

In Maths we are continuing with place value. This week we will be comparing numbers and identifying numbers that are greater than, less than and equal to another number. We will be looking at the correct mathematical symbols to show this.

If you would like to practice at home what we have been learning about in school, then please use the workbook from WhiteRose Maths

 

Y1 – Place value within 10

This supports the Place Unit unit that I will be teaching over the next few weeks, so please do not feel this has to be completed all in one go. A few pages each week following the information in this Learning Preview will really support your child.

In English we will be reading the story The Magic Porridge Pot.

Our work will focus on innovating the story, and we will begin boxing it up into story sections ( the beginning, the build up, the problem, the resolution and the ending) ready for a big write up the following week!

In Phonics we will be learning the different ways to make the sound igh (igh, y, i, -ie, i-e)

Thank you for supporting your child in writing a sentence using one (or more!) of the alternative spellings for the sound. This really does help reinforce our phonics learning. I will send the phonics folders home on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays. Please can you ensure they come back into school every day. Thank you.

If you have any questions please do not hesitate to speak to me after school.

Kind regards

Mrs Clifford and Mrs Whittaker


20 September 2022

In Maths we are continuing with place value. This week we will be counting forwards and backwards from any given number, and we will be revisiting one more and one less than a given number.

 

If you would like to practice at home what we have been learning about in school, then please use the workbook on the WhiteRose Maths

 

Y1 – Place value within 10

This supports the Place Unit unit that I will be teaching over the next few weeks, so please do not feel this has to be completed all in one go. A few pages each week following the information in this Learning Preview will really support your child.

 

In English we will be reading the story The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle. Our work will focus on Talk for Writing, and we will begin by making changes to the main parts of the story, and showing these changes on a story map.

In Phonics we will be learning the different ways to make the sound ee ( ee, y, e, ey, ie, ea, e-e) Thank you for supporting your child in writing a sentence using one (or more!) of the alternative spellings for the sound. This really does help reinforce our phonics learning.

I will send the phonics folders home on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays. Please can you ensure they come back into school every day. Thank you.

If you have any questions please do not hesitate to speak to me after school.

Kind regards

Mrs Clifford and Mrs Whittaker


12 September 2022

Hello and welcome to Year 1.

 

In Maths we are focussing on place value. This week we will be counting objects from a group. This will involve carefully counting a range of objects and writing the correct written numeral. We will also be looking at representing the number of objects we have using a tens frame.

If you would like to practice at home what we have been learning about in school, then please use the workbook on the WhiteRose Maths website

 

Y1 – Place value within 10

This supports the Place Unit unit that I will be teaching over the next few weeks, so please do not feel this has to be completed all in one go. A few pages each week following the information in this Learning Preview will really support your child.

Last week in our English sessions we read the story Not a Stick by Antoinette Portis, and we used this to write our own ideas for a stick.

This week we are using this text to look at command sentences, and we will write our own command sentences using our phonic knowledge.

In Phonics we will be learning the different ways to make the sound ai ( ay, eigh, ey, a-e, a, -ae, -ea)

If you have any questions please do not hesitate to speak to me after school.

 

Kind regards

Mrs Clifford and Mrs Whittaker