Year 2 Preview Learning Archive

28 June 2021

This week in English the children will be researching and planning their own information texts. In phonics we will look at different ways of spelling the /or/ (as in fork) and /ur/ (as in surf) sounds.

(These will all be detailed on the phonics sheets your child brings home from school in their phonics folder.)

This week’s spelling words to learn are:

/or/ – forty, your, straw, saucer

/ur/ – burst, thirsty, germ, learn and work

In our maths lessons we will continue revision of addition and subtraction.

We will focus on understanding related addition and subtraction facts within 100, for example if 2 + 3 = 5, we can see that 2 lots of ten + 3 lots of ten = 5 lots of ten, and therefore 20 + 30 = 50.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Harwood & Mrs Hay


21 June 2021

This week in English we will be finishing off our class-innovated information text inspired by The Lorax.

We will then edit and assess our own work, paying particular attention to the features of non-fiction writing that we have been learning about in class. In phonics we will look at the various ways of spelling the /yoo/ (as in uniform) and long /oo/ (as in boots) sounds. (These will all be detailed on the phonics sheets your child brings home from school in their phonics folder.)

This week’s spelling words to learn are:

/yoo/ – computer, rescue, knew, cube

long /oo/ – group, move, blue and flew

In our maths lessons we will begin revision work on addition and subtraction. If you wish to support your child at home, it would be useful to practise number bonds to multiples of ten beginning with ten and twenty, as in this BBC bitesize article.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/articles/zh8m6v4

If these are secure, you may wish to look at ‘fact families’ for addition and subtraction to ensure that children understand the way calculations are related e.g.

7 + 3 = 10                    10 – 7 = 3

3 + 7 = 10                    10 – 3 = 7

10 = 7 + 3                    3 = 10 – 7

10 = 3 + 7                    7 = 10 – 3

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Harwood & Mrs Hay


14 June 2021

This week in English we will work as a class to write our own information text based on the model text we read in last week’s lessons.

In phonics we will look at the various ways of spelling the /igh/ and /oa/ sounds. (These will all be detailed on the phonics sheets your child brings home from school in their phonics folder.)

This week’s spelling words to learn are:

/igh/ – bright, why, behind, twice

/oa/ – toast, window, most and though

In our maths lessons we will continue our all-important work on place value, introducing place value chart as a means to partition numbers into tens and ones.

We will then move on to revise the symbols for ‘greater than’ and ‘less than’ and use them to compare numbers and calculations.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Harwood & Mrs Hay


07 June 2021

Welcome back! We hope you enjoyed some sunshine over the half term break.

This week in maths we will work on consolidating and extending our previous work on number an place value.

We will start by revising numbers up to 100 in numerals and words, and numbers beyond 100 in numerals. Next, we will look at tens and ones in two-digit numbers, using part-whole and bar models.

See https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/articles/z6yh2v4 for a simple guide to part-whole models, or have a look at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgFeQA96UE8 for a short video about bar modelling strategies.

In our English lessons we will begin a new unit of work based on writing for information.

Our phonics lessons this week will look at the various ways of spelling the /ai/ and /ee/ sounds. (These will all be detailed on the phonics sheets your child brings home from school in their phonics folder.)

This week’s spelling words to learn are

  • afraid
  • remain
  • away
  • they
  • game
  • great
  • lucky
  • money
  • field
  • stream

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Harwood & Mrs Hay


24 May 2021

This week in maths we will put our knowledge of multiplication, division and fractions to the test, completing quizzes and games that summarise our learning from this half term.

 

In our English lessons we will finish off our story editing, concentrating on sentence structure.

Our phonics lessons will focus on words ending ‘tion’.

This week’s spelling words to learn are

  • station
  • fiction
  • motion
  • national
  • section

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Harwood & Mrs Hay


17 May 2021

This week in maths we will consolidate this term’s work on fractions. 

We will be learning more about how to identify fractions using the numerator (the top number) and the denominator (the bottom number.)

We will also use our knowledge of halves, quarters and thirds in problem-solving questions.

To recap or revise fractions at home, you might like to visit this Bitesize introduction to fractions https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/articles/zd8mt39

In our English lessons we will be finishing our story writing, then taking some time to edit our work, focusing on spelling and punctuation. In phonics we will look at the /zh/ sound spelled with ‘s’. This week’s spelling words to learn are

  • television
  • version
  • treasure
  • usual

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Harwood & Mrs Hay


10 May 2021

This week in maths we will be learning all about thirds, identifying one third of a shape and sharing a set of objects into three equal groups.

We will also begin looking at equivalent fractions, beginning with one half and two quarters.

 

In English we will begin writing our own adventure stories based on our class story The Door.

The children have taken great care in planning their stories over the past couple of weeks and we’re looking forward to reading the finished articles!

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Harwood & Mrs Hay


04 May 2021

In this week’s English lessons we will continue work on our class story The Door.

So far we have looked in detail at the story’s opening and now we will be moving on to think about the middle section. We will consider how different word choices can create different effects for our reader, thinking especially about nouns, adjectives, verbs and adverbs.

In phonics we will look at the /or/ sound spelled ‘ar’ after ‘w.’ Our spelling words for this week are :

  • warm
  • war
  • warning
  • reward
  • towards

This week in maths we will be learning all about fractions.

We start off looking at halves and quarters of a shape, then move on to finding one half, one quarter and three quarters of a given quantity (number value.)

What a great excuse to share a cake or divide up some sweets with your children!

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Harwood & Mrs Hay


26 April 2021

In this week’s maths lessons we will be practising division within the 2, 5 and 10 times tables.

We will learn how to work out the answers to these calculations using concrete resources such as counters, but also using a number line to count in ‘steps’ of 2, 5 and 10. Secure knowledge of the 2, 5 and 10 times tables is key to fluency in the related division facts, so please keep practising those times tables with your child at home!

 

This week our English focus will be on extending our sentences using ‘joining words’ (conjunctions) to add more information.

We will revise our earlier work on co-ordinating conjunctions (and, but, so, or) and learn more about subordinating conjunctions (because, when, if, that.)

In phonics we will look at the /o/ sound spelled with an ‘a’ after ‘w’ or ‘qu’.

This week’s spelling words to learn are

  • want
  • watch
  • wander
  • squash
  • quantity

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Harwood & Mrs Hay

 


19 April 2021

Welcome back! We hope you enjoyed your Easter break.

This week in maths we will revise the work on multiplication and division that children completed as part of their home learning earlier this year.

By the end of Year 2 children are expected to know their 2, 5 and 10 times tables. These should be learned in the format “1 times 2 is 2, 2 times 2 is four” etc. up to 12 x 2 and should be fluent enough to recall random multiplication facts out of sequence. This term, children will be encouraged to learn their tables off by heart and, when they are ready, to recite them to a member of the Year 2 team.

In English we will begin a new Talk for Writing unit based around a story called The Door. We will be learning all about adverbs ending with the suffix ‘-ly’ and how these can contribute to the mood of a story.

In phonics we will look at the /n/ sound spelled ‘kn’ or ‘gn’ at the beginning of words. This week’s spelling words to learn are

  • knock 
  • know
  • knee
  • gnome
  • gnaw.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Harwood & Mrs Hay


22 March 2021

In our maths lessons this week, we will be looking at 3-D shapes and their properties. Children should be able to name and describe the following 3-D shapes: cube, cuboid, sphere, pyramid, cone and cylinder. We will learn how to identify these shapes by counting their faces, edges and vertices (corners.)

The following videos are useful for a quick summary of this week’s learning:

What are 3-D shapes?

https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/topics/zjv39j6/articles/zcsjqty

What are the properties of 3-D shapes? https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/topics/zjv39j6/articles/zgqpk2p

 

In English we will be writing character descriptions, applying our knowledge of expanded noun phrases.

 

In phonics we will continue our learning about suffixes, focusing on the spelling rules for adding –ing, -ed, -er, -est and –ly to root words which end in a ‘y’ (the ‘y’ changes to an ‘i’) or an ‘e’ (the final ‘e’ is dropped before the suffix is added.)

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Harwood & Mrs Hay


15th March 2021

 

In our maths lessons this week, we will continue our learning on the properties of shape.

We will concentrate on identifying 2-D shapes by counting the number of sides and vertices (corners), then look at vertical lines of symmetry.

Our English focus this week will be writing. Using picture stimuli, we will work in groups to create an effective piece of descriptive writing.

In phonics we will be learning about the suffixes –ing, -ed, -er and –est, and the spelling rules for adding these to a root word.

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Harwood & Mrs Hay


8th March 2021

Welcome back!

We are so excited to be returning to school and we are looking forward to seeing those smiley Year 2 faces!

 

In our maths lessons this week, we will begin with some new learning on the properties of shape.

This will include identifying common 2-D and 3-D shapes, before looking at 2-D shapes in a bit more detail. Children will also have the opportunity to revise some basic number skills as we ease back into our new routines!

 

Our English focus this week will be on reading and comprehension, as we discuss some of the spelling, grammar and punctuation that we have covered throughout home learning. In phonics we will look specifically at using apostrophes in contractions and to indicate possession.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Harwood & Mrs Hay


5th January 2021

Happy new year and welcome back to a new school term!

This week we will be introducing our new topic Eager Explorers, starting off by learning all about Vikings! We will finish the week with a Viking Explorers day, when we will be making our own long boats and deciphering some ancient Viking codes.

You are more than welcome to come to school on Friday dressed as a Viking, but please don’t go to lots of trouble or expense. Plain clothes and handmade accessories will be just great!

In our maths lessons this week, we will be learning how to add and subtract two-digit numbers using the column method (this is the method with which most grown-ups will be familiar from their own school days!)

 

In English, we will spend a little time reflecting on the Christmas break before writing a letter to say ‘thank you’ to someone special for something kind that they have done for us.

Phonics lessons this week will focus on homophones containing the /air/ sound, such as pear & pair, hare & hair and bear & bear.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Harwood & Mrs Hay


7th December 2020

In maths lessons this week we will continue practising the ‘partitioning’ technique of addition and subtraction, to increase confidence and fluency.

In our English lessons we will be writing up our class-innovated set of instructions.

This week we will also be performing and filming our Nativity play in the school hall!

Your child will be provided with a costume and you will already have received a letter to say what they should wear underneath.

YOUR CHILD SHOULD BRING THESE CLOTHES TO SCHOOL IN A NAMED CARRIER BAG ON MONDAY MORNING so that all children have their complete costumes ready to change into for the performance on Tuesday.

If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact us via the school office.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Harwood & Mrs Hay


30th November 2020

In maths this week we move on from adding 2-digit numbers and multiples of ten (31 + 10, 64 + 20 etc.) to adding two 2-digit numbers using ‘partitioning’. This involves separating the 2-digit numbers into tens and ones before adding/subtracting, and is an important step towards using the more formal column method.

The following BBC Bitesize video explains partitioning nicely (with dinosaurs!)

https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/topics/z69k7ty/articles/zyk8pbk#:~:text=Partitioning,into%20hundreds%2C%20tens%20and%20ones.&text=The%20number%2023%20can%20be,ones%20or%2010%20and%2013.

In our English lessons we will use Talk for Writing techniques to innovate a set of instructions based on the model text that the children have been learning in class.

And of course, there will be plenty of Nativity-related singing and dancing!

We are very proud of how hard the children have been working to learn not only their lines, but also the songs and dances for our play. Well done Year 2!

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Harwood & Mrs Hay

 


23rd November 2020

In English this week we will continue to look at commands using imperative verbs. We will also spend some time revising and consolidating the sounds and spelling rules covered so far this year.

 

We will continue to practise our morning maths challenge, concentrating on using the techniques we have learned over the past weeks for addition and subtraction involving two-digit numbers.

With our Nativity play fast approaching, we will also dedicate some time to rehearsals for the children to practise their lines and learn the words to the play’s songs. We would be grateful if you could support your child in practising their lines at home, encouraging them to speak slowly and in a clear voice. The children are all very excited (and the adults slightly nervous!) about out upcoming performance.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Harwood & Mrs Hay


16th November 2020

This week we are moving on to a new topic in our English work, looking at instruction writing. We will practise writing command sentences using an imperative verb, as well as revising some of the temporal connectives, or ‘time words’, learned in Year 1 (first, next, then, after that, finally etc.) Should you wish to have a go at home, Simon Says is a very relatable game that really helps children to understand how to word commands.

In phonics we will continue our work on plurals, looking particularly at nouns or verb forms ending in y where the ‘y’ is changed to an ‘i’ before ‘es’ is added. For example, baby becomes babies, try becomes tries, and carry becomes carries.

In maths this week we will practise adding ten and then ‘near multiples of ten’ (i.e. 9 or 11) to a two-digit number.

In class we often use a hundred square to support our addition and subtraction and it is always useful to practise counting forwards and backwards across this type of grid. It is especially important that children are confident in ‘crossing the tens barrier’, understanding where to move on reaching the end of a line (e.g. counting forward from 40 to 41, or counting backwards from 40 to 39.) You may find the Primary Games ‘splat’ hundred square a useful online tool for supporting your child at home.

https://www.primarygames.co.uk/pg2/splat/splatsq100.html

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Harwood & Mrs Hay


9th November

Our English lessons this week will focus on editing skills, as we learn how to carefully re-read a piece of our own work to see how we can make improvements or corrections.

In phonics we will revise the /ee/ sound, spelled as “-ey” at the end of a word and how the plural of these words is formed by the addition of “s” e.g. monkeys, donkeys.

In maths this week we will continue to practise adding and subtracting one-digit numbers from two-digit numbers that are not multiples of 10.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Harwood & Mrs Hay


2nd November 2020

 

During the first week back after half term Year 2 will be learning about kennings, an Old English or Norse style of poetry which uses two-word descriptions as a metaphor to describe something without using its name. Some kennings that you may already be familiar with include tree hugger (an environmentalist), ankle biter (a young child) or tummy slider (a penguin)!

In phonics we will be learning about adding ‘s’ and ‘es’ to make the plural of nouns and the third person singular verb formation. This includes adding ‘es’ for plural nouns ending s, x, z, ch or sh.

In maths we will be learning how to add and subtract one-digit and two-digit numbers within 100. This includes calculations such as 37 + 6 which ‘crosses the tens barrier’ from thirties into forties.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Harwood & Mrs Hay


19th October 2020

In next week’s maths lessons we will practise adding and subtracting one-digit numbers to/from a multiple of ten, e.g. 20 + 8 = 28 or 40 – 3 = 37. You can support your child at home by practising number bonds to 10 for fluency and helping to secure their understanding of place value in two-digit numbers e.g. identifying that the number 84 is made up of 8 tens and 4 ones. (The Oxford Owl website has some good suggestions for reinforcing place value at home https://home.oxfordowl.co.uk/maths/primary-number-place-value/number-place-value-year-2-age-6-7/.)

In English we will be writing reports about a range of crazy creatures, inspired by our work on The Quangle Wangle’s Hat.

We will also be learning about expanded noun phrases (see https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4fCk8ye4jio&feature=emb_rel_end for more information.)

Our phonics lessons will focus on the /igh/ and /ee/ sounds spelled “y” at the end of a word, e.g. cry, fly and sky, or mummy, daddy and happy.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Harwood & Mrs Hay


Week Commencing 12th October 2020

 

In next week’s maths lessons we will be practising addition and subtraction facts to 20, for example 11 + 9, 12 + 8, 13 + 7 etc. We will then move on to look at how these number bonds can help us to work out bonds to 100.

You can support your child’s learning by going over these number bonds orally to increase fluency and recall. Once you’ve had some practice you could try the game at https://www.topmarks.co.uk/maths-games/hit-the-button or, if you’re feeling really confident, try https://www.mathplayground.com/number_bonds_20.html.

In English we will be writing about the Quangle Wangle from Edward Lear’s poem The Quangle Wangle’s Hat. We will use adjectives to describe his appearance, habitat and diet, as well as thinking up some ‘amazing facts’ about this mysterious creature!

Our phonics lessons will focus on the /j/ sound spelled with “g” before e, i and y as in gentle, ginger and gym.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Harwood & Mrs Hay


Week Commencing 5th October 2020

 

Next week in our English lessons we will be moving on to a new unit of work, starting by looking at some of Edward Lear’s nonsense poetry. We will focus on identifying different nouns and the adjectives used to describe them.

In phonics we will be looking in more detail at the /j/ sound, this time spelled ‘dge’ at the end of a word, as in badge, fridge or edge.

Maths lessons will revise simple addition and subtraction using the part-part-whole model.

(https://www.ncetm.org.uk/classroom-resources/primm-1-02-introducing-whole-and-parts-part-part-whole/)

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Harwood & Mrs Hay


Week Commencing 28th September 2020

 

In this week’s English lessons we will be writing a new class story based on The Tiger Child, using what we have learned about the different sentence types to make sure it’s an exciting read!

This week’s phonics lessons will focus on the /j/ sound spelt with “ge” at the end of a word as in hinge, large and package.

In maths we will use our knowledge of place value to estimate number using a number line. (https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/clips/z9vgkqt)

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Harwood & Mrs Hay

 


21st September 2020

This week in English we will continue our work on the story of The Tiger Child.

 

We will also practise our joined up handwriting, exploring statements, questions and exclamation sentences. The following link explains exclamation sentences for the purposes of the primary curriculum: https://www.theschoolrun.com/what-is-an-exclamation-sentence.

In phonics we will be looking at the /s/ sound spelt with a “c” before e, i and y, in words such as certificate, city and cylinder.

In maths we will continue our focus on place value, identifying larger and smaller numbers, and using the ‘greater than’ and ‘less than’ symbols (https://www.theschoolrun.com/greater-than-less-than-symbols.) We will also introduce counting in 3s.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Harwood & Mrs Hay


Week commencing 14/9/20

 

In last week’s English lessons we started learning the story of The Tiger Child, a folk tale from India. This week we will be looking at the different sentence types within the story, focusing particularly on statements punctuated with a full stop and questions with a question mark.

 

In phonics we will be looking at the /s/ sound, spelt as “ce” as in fence, dance, prince or voice. Phonics sheets will be completed in school but will be sent home each day in children’s phonics folders.

Should you wish to support your child at home it would be good practice to read through the sheets together, focusing /s/ written as “ce” in each word.

This week’s maths lessons will focus on place value, identifying tens and ones in 2-digit numbers, as well as revision of counting in 2s, 5s and 10s.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Harwood & Mrs Hay