Year 2 Preview Learning Archive

Year 2 Preview Learning: 03/02/20

In maths this week we will continue our work on the two, five, and ten times tables, practising calculations using the multiplication (x) and division (÷) signs.

A big thank you to one of our parents for sharing the BBC Super Movers collection which supports learning of times tables through song and movement! Times tables from 2 to 12 can be found here

In English we will look at writing descriptive passages using everything that we have learned over the past two weeks, including adjectives and adverbs to make our writing more exciting.

We will also be taking a look at using different tenses in our writing.

In phonics we will be learning the rules for adding –ing, -ed, -er, -est and –y to one syllable words. The practise list for this week is: put, big, stop, fat, thin, run, swim, and hot. Children should be able to add the above endings to these words by doubling the final letter e.g. put becomes putting, stop becomes stopped and hot would become hotter.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Harwood


Year 2 Preview Learning: 27/01/20

In our English lessons this week we will continue reading The BFG by Roald Dahl, thinking particularly about how the different characters are presented and described. We will also be learning about adverbs and how these words can be used for description or for information.

In phonics we will be looking at the /or/ sound which is usually spelt ‘a’ before l and ll. The spelling words for this week are: all, ball, call, walk, talk and always.

In maths we will be learning about multiplication and division. By the end of Year 2 children are expected to know their 2, 5 and 10 times tables.

These should be learned in the format “1 times 2 is 2, 2 times 2 is four” etc. up to 2 x 12 and should be fluent enough to recall random multiplication facts out of sequence. Children will be encouraged to learn their tables off by heart and, when they are ready, to recite them to a member of the Year 2 team.

Please support your children in their learning at home – they will receive a sticker and a certificate for each multiplication table learnt.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Harwood

 


Year 2 Preview Learning: 20/01/20

This week in English we will begin a new topic looking at the work of the author Roald Dahl. We will focus on character description and using adjectives to enhance our work.

In phonics we will be looking at the /r/ sound and the spelling wr as in wrong. The spelling words for this week are: write, written, wrote, wrong, wreck, wrist, wriggle and wrap. These will be practised in school daily and will also be in your child’s phonics folder should you wish to practise at home.

In maths we will be practising adding and subtracting two-digit numbers using the column method.

If you wish to support your child at home you could look at pages 7 & 8 in your CGP Maths Workbook. Just a reminder that revising work on place value is useful at any time, and pages 1 – 5 are useful for this if you haven’t looked at them already!

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Harwood

 


Year 2 Preview Learning: 13/01/20

Welcome back and happy new year from the Year 2 team!

This week in English we will be writing informal letters to say thank you for some of the things that we enjoyed over the Christmas holidays.

In phonics we will be looking at the /l/ sound and the spellings –il and –al used at the end of words like pencil, fossil, animal and hospital.

The list of spelling words that children should know are: pencil, evil, stencil, nostril, until, normal, total, final, hospital and animal. 

You can support your child in learning their spellings by reading through the sheets in their phonics folders with them, and encouraging them to write out the words in their best joined handwriting!

In maths we will be learning more about written methods for adding and subtracting two-digit numbers.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Harwood

 


Year 2 Preview Learning: 25th November 2019

This week in English we will be learning about homophones – words that sound the same but are spelled differently. To begin with we will focus on homophones containing the /air/ sound, such as pair and pearbare and bearwear and where.

Our Year 2 words for this week are there, their, they’re, to, too and two.

In maths we will be continuing to practise adding and subtracting two-digit numbers. This will involve breaking the number to be added or subtracted into tens and ones, then using a hundred square or a number line to count on (addition) or back (subtraction.)

We will also be squeezing in plenty of Nativity practise during the week! All children have been sent home with copies of the lines that they will need to learn off by heart. Please support your child at home by rehearsing these lines whenever you might have a moment to spare!

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Harwood


Year 2 Preview Learning: 14th November 2019

***SAVE THE DATE***

Our Key Stage 1 Nativity performance will take place at St Mary’s Church on Tuesday 10th December at 6.30pm. The dress rehearsal will be on Monday 9th December, also at the church, and is an open event for families – particularly those with young chidlren – who might not be able to attend the evening performance. Further details regarding children’s costumes and drop-off arrangements for both the dress rehearsal and the evening performance will be sent out closer to the time.

This week in English we will be writing instructions, building on what the children learned in Year 1. Our common exception words for this week are clothes, busy, people, water and again.

In phonics we will be looking at plurals of nouns ending in –y, where the y is changed to an i before ‘es’, for example baby – babies, bunny – bunnies, reply – replies.

In maths we will begin learning how to subtract 2 two-digit numbers.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Harwood


Year 2 Preview Learning: 11th November 2019

This week in English we will be learning more about poetry writing and how to use techniques such as similes and alliteration to enhance our work. Our common exception words for this week are who, whole, any and many.

In phonics we will revise the /ee/ sound, spelled as “-ey” at the end of a word and how the plural form of these words is formed by the addition of “s” i.e. monkeys, donkeys.
In maths we will take the first steps in learning how to add 2 two-digit numbers.

Many thanks for your continued support,
Miss Harwood


Year 2 Preview Learning: 4th November 2019

During the first week back after half term Year 2 will be learning about kennings, an Old English or Norse style of poetry which uses two-word descriptions as a metaphor to describe something without using its name. Some kennings that you may already be familiar with include tree hugger (an environmentalist), ankle biter (a young child) or tummy slider (a penguin)!

Our common exception words for the week are sure, sugar, eye, could, should and would.

In phonics we will be looking at the letter ‘y’ and the different sounds that it makes: as a consonant /y/ as in yellow; as the /igh/ sound in sky; and as the /ee/ sound in daddy.

In maths we will be learning how to add and subtract one-digit and two-digit numbers within 100. This includes calculations such as 37 + 6 which ‘crosses the tens barrier’ from thirties into forties.

Just a reminder that your child’s Brilliant Buildings topic project is due in to school on Wednesday 6th November.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Harwood


Year 2 Preview Learning: 21st October 2019

Our common exception words for this week are plant, path, bath, hour, move, prove and improve.

In phonics we will consolidate work on the /j/ sound, looking at the –ge and –dge patterns used at the end of words, and the ge, gi and gy spellings elsewhere in words.

In maths we will spend some time revising place value, including some reasoning and problem solving challenges.

Your child’s Brilliant Buildings topic project is due in to school on Wednesday 6th November. Please do not send items in before then as we have limited space to store these wonderful creations! We are looking forward to a special showcase after the holidays.

Many thanks for your continued support, Miss Harwood

 


Year 2 Preview Learning: 14th October 2019

Our common exception words for this week are after, fast, last, past, father, class, grass and pass.

In phonics we will revise the /j/ sound, spelled as “-dge” at the end of a word and learn how this sound is spelled “g” elsewhere in words before e, i and y as in

gentle, ginger and gym.

In maths we will be using our knowledge of addition and subtraction to solve missing number problems. To increase fluency in number bonds, please see https://www.topmarks.co.uk/maths-games/hit-the-button and select the games for number bonds up to 20 or up to 100.

Many thanks for your continued support, Miss Harwood

 


Year 2 Preview Learning: 30th September 2019

This week in our English lessons we will be learning about joining sentences using co-ordinating conjunctions such as and, or, but, so.

For example:

Anna went to the shops. She bought a box of chocolates.

  • Anna went to the shops and bought a box of chocolates.   

Would you like pizza for tea? Would you like sausages?

  • Would you like pizza or sausages for tea?       

Simon likes coffee. Andy likes tea.

  • Simon likes coffee but Sally likes tea      .

It was cold outside. I put on my coat.

  • It was cold outside so I put on my coat.

Our Common Exception words for this week are old, cold, gold, every and everybody.

In phonics we will be looking at the /j/ sound, spelt as “-ge” or “-dge” at the end of a word as in large or fridge.

Maths lessons will focus on addition and subtraction. If you wish to support your child at home you could look at page 6 in your CGP Maths Workbook. Consolidating work on place value is useful at any time, and pages 1 – 5 are useful for this.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Harwood