Year 4 Preview Learning Archive

 


20 June 2022

In English this week we will be starting our new unit which is discussion texts. We will be focussing on persuasive features and learning all about the damages litter does to our planet. In grammar this week we will be focusing on nouns and pronouns.

 

Please continue to make sure your child reads at least three times a week as this has a massive impact on their ability to answer comprehension questions and widens their vocabulary.

Over please complete pages 3 and 4 in our new comprehension booklet “”. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, Monday 27.6.22.

 

Spellings to focus on for this week are-suppose, surprise, therefore and though. Please practise them with your child by either practising verbally or writing them down in whichever way will engage them (writing in felt tips, putting them into sentences etc.)

 

In Maths, we will be focusing on learning all about hours, minutes and seconds, years, months, weeks and days, analogue to digital (both 12 and 24 hours).

 

Please continue to help your children to learn all their times tables as this will have a massive impact on their maths skills and will help them throughout their school life.

Websites to help with tables are-

Have a wonderful week, I also wanted to mention a great big thank you to everyone who has worked so hard with helping your children with their times tables. We were extremely proud of how well the children conducted themselves and their results will be available soon!

Miss Norton and Mrs Ahmed


13 June 2022

In English this week we will be continuing to look at different forms of poetry, this week we will be focussing on list poems. The children will get the chance to create their own list poem about themselves. In grammar this week we will be focusing on using further conjunctions such as because, if, while and so in our sentences.

 

Please continue to make sure your child reads at least three times a week as this has a massive impact on their ability to answer comprehension questions and widens their vocabulary.

Over please complete pages 1 and 2 in our new comprehension booklet “American Sporting Heroes”. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, Monday 20.6.22.

 

Spellings to focus on for this week are-special, straight, strange and strength. Please practise them with your child by either practising verbally or writing them down in whichever way will engage them (writing in felt tips, putting them into sentences etc.)

 

In Maths, we will be completing our Hot Task for our Money topic. We will then be completing our cold task for Time. It would be great if you could practise telling the time at home with you children (both 12 hour and 24). This week we will be focusing on telling the time to 5 mins, using A.M and P.M and finally looking at the 24 hour clock.

 

Please continue to help your children to learn all their times tables as this will have a massive impact on their maths skills and will help them throughout their school life.

Websites to help with tables are-

 

Have a wonderful week,

Miss Norton and Mrs Ahmed

 


06 June 2022

On Monday we will be enjoying a Jubilee Day! We cannot wait to share our dance with you!

In English this week we will be looking at different forms of poetry- our first focus in poetry will be Haikus. In grammar we will be looking at comparative and superlative adjectives e.g., small, smaller, smallest.

Please continue to make sure your child reads at least three times a week as this has a massive impact on their ability to answer comprehension questions and widens their vocabulary.

 

Over please complete pages 32 and 33 “An Unexpected Visitor” in the CGP comprehension book. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, Monday 13.6.22.

 

Spellings to focus on for this week are-reign, remember, sentence and separate. Please practise them with your child by either practising verbally or writing them down in whichever way will engage them (writing in felt tips, putting them into sentences etc.)

 

In Maths, we will be continuing with our unit- Money. We will be learning how to add and subtract using money we will also be working out change from a set amount.

 

Please continue to help your children to learn all their times tables as this will have a massive impact on their maths skills and will help them throughout their school life.

Websites to help with tables are-

We hope you had a fantastic half term and are ready to smash Summer term 2!

Miss Norton and Mrs Ahmed


23 May 2022

In English this week we will be creating and planning our own Warning Story.

Please continue to make sure your child reads at least three times a week as this has a massive impact on their ability to answer comprehension questions and widens their vocabulary.

Over please complete pages 30 and 31 “The Jungle Book” in the CGP comprehension book. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, Monday 6.6.22.

 

Spellings to focus on for this week are-quarter, question, recent and regular. Please practise them with your child by either practising verbally or writing them down in whichever way will engage them (writing in felt tips, putting them into sentences etc.)

 

In Maths, we will be starting our new unit- Money. We will be completing a cold task to see what the children already know about Money. We will then be learning about pounds and pence, ordering money and estimating money.

 

Please continue to help your children to learn all their times tables as this will have a massive impact on their maths skills and will help them throughout their school life.

Websites to help with tables are-

Have a great week!

Miss Norton and Mrs Ahmed

 


16 May 2022

In English this week we will be planning our own warning story, looking closely at our took kit. In grammar this week we will be learning how to indicate possession by using the possessive apostrophe with plural nouns.

Please continue to make sure your child reads at least three times a week as this has a massive impact on their ability to answer comprehension questions and widens their vocabulary.

Over please complete pages 28 and 29 “A letter from Barack Obama” in the CGP comprehension book. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, Monday 23.5.22.

 

Spellings to focus on for this week are- pressure, probably purpose and promise. Please practise them with your child by either practising verbally or writing them down in whichever way will engage them (writing in felt tips, putting them into sentences etc.)

 

In Maths, we will be comparing decimals, rounding decimals and using halves and quarters in decimal form. We will then be completing a hot task to finish off our decimal topic.

 

Please continue to help your children to learn all their times tables as this will have a massive impact on their maths skills and will help them throughout their school life.

Websites to help with tables are-

Have a great week!

Miss Norton and Mrs Ahmed


09 May 2022

 

In English this week we will be continuing to look at Warning stories. We will also be looking at using dictionaries and discovering new vocabulary for us to use in our work.

 

 

In Maths, we will be completing a cold task on the next part for our new decimals unit. We will then be moving onto learning about making a whole, learning about writing decimals and comparing and ordering decimals.

 

 

Over please complete pages 26 and 27 “The Lion, the Witch and the wardrobe” in the CGP comprehension book. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, Monday 16.5.22.

 

Please continue to make sure your child reads at least three times a week as this has a massive impact on their ability to answer comprehension questions and widens their vocabulary.

 

Spellings to focus on for this week are-perhaps, popular, position and possesses. Please practise them with your child by either practising verbally or writing them down in whichever way will engage them (writing in felt tips, putting them into sentences etc.)

 

Please continue to help your children to learn all their times tables as this will have a massive impact on their maths skills and will help them throughout their school life.

Websites to help with tables are-

Have a great week!

Miss Norton and Mrs Ahmed


03 May 2022

 

In English this week we will be moving onto Warning Texts. The children will complete a Cold task based on a Warning Text to see what our main focus should be.

 

 

In Maths, we will be looking at hundredths on a place value grid and dividing 1 or 2-digits by 100. After we have finished that we will then do a decimal hot task.

 

Over the Easter holiday please complete pages 24 and 25 “in the CGP comprehension book. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, Monday 9.5.22.

 

 Please continue to make sure your child reads at least three times a week as this has a massive impact on their ability to answer comprehension questions and widens their vocabulary.

 

Spellings to focus on for this week are- often, opposite, ordinary and particular. Please practise them with your child by either practising verbally or writing them down in whichever way will engage them (writing in felt tips, putting them into sentences etc.)

 

Please continue to help your children to learn all their times tables as this will have a massive impact on their maths skills and will help them throughout their school life.

Websites to help with tables are-

Have a great week!

Miss Norton and Mrs Ahmed


25 April 2022

Looking forward to our virtual Stunning Start for our Holidays Topic in Summer Term!

Please allow your children to come into School in Holiday suitable clothes on Friday 29th April.

 

In English this week we will be writing our own explanation text and doing some research on a chosen topic to help us write them.

 

In Maths, we will be continuing with our decimals work.

 

Over the Easter holiday please complete pages 22 and 23 “Poems about the Weather” in the CGP comprehension book. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, Tuesday 3.5.22.

 

 

 

 Please continue to make sure your child reads at least three times a week as this has a massive impact on their ability to answer comprehension questions and widens their vocabulary.

 

Please continue to help your children to learn all their times tables as this will have a massive impact on their maths skills and will help them throughout their school life.

Websites to help with tables are:

 

 

Have a great week!

Miss Norton and Mrs Ahmed


28 March 2022

This week in English we will be moving onto learning about explanation texts, especially focussing on Wallace and Gromit and their amazing inventions.

All of the children will be exposed to a variety of explanation texts and understand the overall aim for the topic.

 

 

In Maths, we will be moving onto learning about decimals. Firstly, we will be looking at recognising tenths and hundredths.  We will be especially concentrating on tenths- as a decimal, on a place value grid and tenths on a number line.

 

 

Please complete pages 18 and 19 “An Interview with Tim Peake” in the CGP comprehension book.

You will need to bring this back to school, completed, Tuesday 5.4.22.

 

 

Please continue to make sure your child reads at least three times a week as this has a massive impact on their ability to answer comprehension questions and widens their vocabulary.

 

Please continue to help your children to learn all their times tables as this will have a massive impact on their maths skills and will help them throughout their school life. I check the children have completed practising their tables on a Friday morning.

 

Please practise the words the children have learnt so far in Year 4.

 

 


21 March 2022

This week in English the children will be continuing to learn about the story Mission Possible and will be writing their own adventure story. The children will also be doing a cold task on explanation texts.

Our SPAG focus this week is using description to make information interesting.

 

 

In Maths, we will be continuing with our learning of fractions. We will be recapping adding fractions and subtracting fractions.

 

 

Please complete pages 16 and 17 “Coram Boy” in the CGP comprehension book.

You will need to bring this back to school, completed, Monday 28.3.22.

 

 

Please continue to make sure your child reads at least three times a week as this has a massive impact on their ability to answer comprehension questions and widens their vocabulary.

 

Please continue to help your children to learn all their times tables as this will have a massive impact on their maths skills and will help them throughout their school life. I check the children have completed practising their tables on a Friday morning.

Please practise the words the children have learnt so far in Year 4.

Have a lovely week,

 

Miss Norton and Mrs Ahmed


14 March 2022

This week in English we will be continuing to learn about the story Mission Possible and will eventually write our own adventure story. Our SPAG focus this week are determiners.

A determiner is a word that goes before a noun and identifies the noun in further detail.

There are different types of determiners:

 

 

In Maths, we will be continuing with our learning of fractions. We will be recapping adding fractions and subtracting fractions.

Good websites for this weeks maths-

How to add and subtract fractions – BBC Bitesize

 

 

Please complete pages 14 and 15 “The story of Nu Wa” in the CGP comprehension book.

You will need to bring this back to school, completed, Monday 21.3.22.

 

 

Please continue to make sure your child reads at least three times a week as this has a massive impact on their ability to answer comprehension questions and widens their vocabulary.

 

Please continue to help your children to learn all their times tables as this will have a massive impact on their maths skills and will help them throughout their school life. I check the children have completed practising their tables on a Friday morning.

Please practise the words the children have learnt so far in Year 4.

 

Have a lovely week,

Miss Norton and Mrs Ahmed


07 March 2022

This week in English we will be listening and analysing a story called “mission possible” about two children called Pete and Polly.

The children will be learning all about adventure stories and at the end of the unit they will write their own.

 

 In Maths, we will be continuing with our learning of fractions. We will be recapping equivalent fractions and looking closely at fractions greater than one.

 

Websites which may help for maths this week are-

Fractions in Year 3 (age 7–8) | Oxford Owl

Equivalent fractions and simplifying fractions – Year 3 – P4 – Maths – Learning with BBC Bitesize – BBC Bitesize

 

Please complete pages 10 and 11 “Julius Caesar’s Goat” in the CGP comprehension book.

You will need to bring this back to school, completed, Monday 14.3.22.

 

 Please continue to make sure your child reads at least three times a week as this has a massive impact on their ability to answer comprehension questions and widens their vocabulary.

 

Please continue to help your children to learn all their times tables as this will have a massive impact on their maths skills and will help them throughout their school life. I check the children have completed practising their tables on a Friday morning.

Please practise the words the children have learnt so far in Year 4.

 

Have a lovely week,

Miss Norton and Mrs Ahmed


28 February 2022

Welcome back to Spring Term 2!

 This week in English we will be learning all about narrative poetry. The children will complete a cold task creating a narrative poem to see what they already know about them and highlighting the main focus of the next couple of weeks, we will be discovering the features of narrative poetry and will be reading a wide range of poetry to get the children engaged. Our SPAG focus for this week will be prepositional phrases.

 

 In Maths, we will be moving onto our new topic which is fractions. The children will be completing a cold task to see what they already know. After that we will be learning about unit and non-unit fractions, discussing what is a fraction? Recapping on tenths, counting in tenths and looking at equivalent fractions.

Websites which may help for maths this week are-

 

Fractions in Year 3 (age 7–8) | Oxford Owl

Equivalent fractions and simplifying fractions – Year 3 – P4 – Maths – Learning with BBC Bitesize – BBC Bitesize

 

 

Please complete pages 10 and 11 “Julius Caesar’s Goat” in the CGP comprehension book. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, Monday 7.3.22.

 

 Please continue to make sure your child reads at least three times a week as this has a massive impact on their ability to answer comprehension questions and widens their vocabulary.

 

Please continue to help your children to learn all their times tables as this will have a massive impact on their maths skills and will help them throughout their school life. I check the children have completed practising their tables on a Friday morning.

 

The spellings we are focusing on this week are: kind, knowledge, last and learn. Please practise these at home. The children will be tested on all the words on the Year 3/4 word list each half term.

 

Have a lovely week,

Miss Norton and Mrs Ahmed


14 February 2022

 

This week in English, the children will be given the chance to edit and improve their story from the previous week. In SPAG we will be learning about tenses and will learn how to use them correctly.

 

 

In Maths this week we will be learning about area. The learning objectives for this week are: what is area? Counting squares, making shapes and comparing area.

 

 

Please complete pages 6 and 7 in the CGP comprehension book. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, Monday 28.2.22.

 

 

Please continue to make sure your child reads at least three times a week as this has a massive impact on their ability to answer comprehension questions and widens their vocabulary.

 

 

The work so far on times tables has been brilliant, please continue to help your children to learn all their times tables as this will have a massive impact on their maths skills and will help them throughout their school life. Every Friday we check the children’s diary to make sure they have read at least three times with an adult and practised their times tables at least three times too! This is in preparation for the multiplication test.

Have a wonderful half term!

Miss Norton, Miss Dobson and Mrs Ahmed.

 


07 February 2022

This week in English we will be looking at a short traditional wishing tale about the King of Fishes.

The children will have the opportunity to use their imaginations and let themselves become fully emerged in the story.  In SPAG, we will be focusing on dictionary skills and growing our vocabulary in our writing.

 

In Maths we will be recapping all of the knowledge that we have learnt so far using multiplication and division. We will be specifically focusing on word problems and using the bus stop method to work out division questions. The whole week will be focused on going over our times table knowledge and on Friday we will do completing a hot task to see what the children have understood and what we may need to go over again.

 

 

Please complete pages 6 and 7 in the CGP comprehension book ‘The Dragonsitter’s Island’. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, Monday 14.2.22.

 

 

Please continue to make sure your child reads at least three times a week as this has a massive impact on their ability to answer comprehension questions and widens their vocabulary.

 

 

The work so far on times tables has been brilliant, please continue to help your children to learn all their times tables as this will have a massive impact on their maths skills and will help them throughout their school life. Every Friday we check the children’s diary to make sure they have read at least three times with an adult and practised their times tables at least three times too! This is in preparation for the multiplication test.

 

Have a wonderful week!

Miss Norton, Miss Dobson and Mrs Ahmed.


31 January 2022

 

This week in English we will be concluding out Myths and Legends topic, the children will be able to get the chance to create their own myth using all the skills and features they have learnt about in this term.

In SPAG, the children will be looking at time conjunctions.

 

In Maths, we will be focusing on multiplying and dividing, this is why it is crucial for the children to know their multiplication and division facts.

We will be focusing on dividing 2-digits by 1-digit, recapping on dividing 2-digits by 1-digit, dividing 3-digits by 1-digit.

 

 

Please complete pages 4 and 5 in the CGP comprehension book ‘Geocaching’. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, Monday 7.2.22.

 

 

 

Please continue to make sure your child reads at least three times a week as this has a massive impact on their ability to answer comprehension questions and widens their vocabulary.

 

The work so far on times tables has been brilliant, please continue to help your children to learn all their times tables as this will have a massive impact on their maths skills and will help them throughout their school life. Every Friday we check the children’s diary to make sure they have read at least three times with an adult and practised their times tables at least three times too! This is in preparation for the multiplication test.

Have a wonderful week!

Miss Norton, Miss Dobson and Mrs Ahmed


24 January 2022

 

This week in English we will be continuing to look at myths. We will be looking at the structure of a myth and will be writing our own opening to our very own myth. After we have looked closely at the opening of a myth we will then create our own build up using all of the features of myths that we have learnt so far.

 

 

In Maths, we will learning all about efficient multiplication, written methods, multiplying 2-digits by 1-digit, multiplying 2-digits by 1-digit and multiplying 3-digits by 1-digit.

Good websites to help you with your maths this week-

Maths KS1 / KS2: What is multiplication? – BBC Teach

Multiplying and dividing – KS2 Maths – BBC Bitesize

Please complete pages 32 and 33 in the CGP comprehension book. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, Monday 31.1.22.

 

 

Please continue to make sure your child reads at least three times a week as this has a massive impact on their ability to answer comprehension questions and widens their vocabulary.

 

The work so far on times tables has been brilliant, please continue to help your children to learn all their times tables as this will have a massive impact on their maths skills and will help them throughout their school life.

 

The spellings we are focusing on this week are: increase, important, interest and island.

Please practise these at home. You will be tested on all the words on the Year 3/4 word list each half term.

 

Have a lovely week and stay safe.

Miss Norton, Miss Dobson and Mrs Ahmed


17 January 2022

This week in English we will be looking at Myths and learning how to ask and answer questions. We will be continuing to learn a range of myths and look deeply into them. The children will learn how to retell a myth and will get the opportunity to act some out in groups.

 

In Maths, we will learning all about the 7 times table- Multiplying and dividing by 7 and looking closely at the 7 times table division facts. We will then be looking at 11 and 12 times-table and multiplying 3 numbers and their factor pairs.

 

Please complete pages 30 and 31 in the CGP comprehension book. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, Monday 24.1.22.

Please continue to make sure your child reads at least three times a week as this has a massive impact on their ability to answer comprehension questions and widens their vocabulary.

 

The work so far on times tables has been brilliant, please continue to help your children to learn all their times tables as this will have a massive impact on their maths skills and will help them throughout their school life.

Spellings:

The spelling we are focusing on this week are: increase, important, interest and island. Please practise these at home. You will be tested on all the words on the Year 3/4 word list each half term.

 

Have a lovely week and stay safe.

Miss Norton, Miss Dobson and Mrs Ahmed


10 January 2022

This week in English we will be starting on a new unit- Myths and Legends. Last week the children completed a cold write (a piece of writing with no help or knowledge of the topic) in order for us to see what we need to focus on.

The children will be looking at features of myths and legends and will be really getting to grips with what the words mean. We will be reading the Theseus and the Minotaur Myth.

 

In Maths, we will be looking closely at the 3 times-table, multiplying and dividing by 6, the 6 times-table and division facts, multiplying and dividing by 9 and 9 times-table and division facts.

Good websites to help you with maths this week are-

Times Tables Games for 7 to 11 year olds (topmarks.co.uk)

Hit the Button – Quick fire maths practise for 6-11 year olds (topmarks.co.uk)

Times tables games – Learn them all here!

The 3 times table – Year 4 – P5 – Maths – Home Learning with BBC Bitesize – BBC Bitesize

6 times table and division facts – Year 5 – P6 – Maths – Home Learning with BBC Bitesize – BBC Bitesize

 

  • Please complete pages 30 and 31 in the CGP comprehension book. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, Monday 17.1.22.
  • Please continue to make sure your child reads at least three times a week as this has a massive impact on their ability to answer comprehension questions and widens their vocabulary.

The work so far on times tables has been brilliant, please continue to help your children to learn all their times tables as this will have a massive impact on their maths skills and will help them throughout their school life.

 

Spellings:

The spelling we are focusing on this week are: heart, height, history and imagine. Please practise these at home. You will be tested on all the words on the Year 3/4 word list each half term.

 

Have a lovely week and stay safe. We really appreciate your support, we are so proud of your wonderful children and the progress they are making!

Miss Norton, Miss Dobson and Mrs Ahmed


05 January 2022

Welcome back to School! Can’t wait to smash the Spring Term!

This week in English we will be starting to look at Myths, the children will be doing a cold task on Myths, this is so we can see what the children know so far and how best to challenge them going forward. The children will also be writing about their holidays and describing a picture from ‘once upon a picture’.

In Maths, we will be learning how to multiply and divide by 6, the 6 times-table and division facts, multiplying and dividing by 9, the 9 times-table and division facts and multiplying and dividing by 7.

Please complete pages 26 and 27 in the CGP comprehension book. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, Monday 10.1.22.

 

Please continue to make sure your child reads at least three times a week as this has a massive impact on their ability to answer comprehension questions and widens their vocabulary.

 

The work so far on times tables has been brilliant, please continue to help your children to learn all their times tables as this will have a massive impact on their maths skills and will help them throughout their school life.

Thank you for all of your support! Have a lovely week and stay safe.

Miss Norton


06 December 2021

This week in English we will be writing our own Christmas poetry, we will be looking at the features in Christmas poetry and will get the opportunity to perform our poem to the rest of the class.

 

In Maths, we will be multiplying by 1 and 0, dividing by 1 and itself, revising multiplying and dividing by 3 and the 3 times-table.

The work so far on times tables has been brilliant, please continue to help your children to learn all their times tables as this will have a massive impact on their maths skills and will help them throughout their school life.

 

Please complete pages 24 and 25 in the CGP comprehension book. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, Monday 13.12.21.

Please continue to make sure your child reads at least three times a week as this has a massive impact on their ability to answer comprehension questions and widens their vocabulary.

 

Spellings:

The spelling we are focusing on this week are: group, guard, guide and heard. Please practise these at home. You will be tested on all the words on the Year 3/4 word list each half term.

 

“Dear the parents of year 4 class,

My name is Miss Dobson and I am currently in my final year of my teacher training degree at Reading University. I am lucky enough to be carrying out my final year placement in the lovely year 4 class at Burghfield St Marys. I will be working with year 4 until February half term and I am very much looking forward to getting to know the school, you and all the pupils throughout my time here.

Best wishes,

Miss Dobson”

 

Thank you for all of your support! Have a lovely week and stay safe

Miss Norton


29 November 2021

Year 4 Preview Learning: Week commencing 29th November

English

This week in English we will be writing our own Non-Chorological report about our own dragon we created last week. The children will also be learning how to use inverted commas.

Please complete pages 22 and 23 in the CGP comprehension book. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, Monday 6.12.21.

Please continue to make sure your child reads at least three times a week as this has a massive impact on their ability to answer comprehension questions and widens their vocabulary.

Maths

In Maths, we will be multiplying by 10 and 100 and dividing by 10 and 100.

A good website for maths games to help for this week- https://www.topmarks.co.uk/Search.aspx?q=bingo%20timesing%20by%2010%20and%20100

The work so far on times tables has been brilliant, please continue to help your children to learn all their times tables as this will have a massive impact on their maths skills and will help them throughout their school life.

Topic

In topic this week we will be learning all about the modern Royal Family. We will be looking closely and addressing sometimes devise historically valid questions about change, cause, similarity and difference, and significance by learning about the modern royal family in Britain.

Spellings

The spelling we are focusing on this week are: forward, forwards, fruit and grammar. Please practise these at home. You will be tested on all the words on the Year 3/4 word list each half term.

 

I also wanted to add that I am extremely proud of every single child for their amazing singing and behaviour at the Junior Music Festival. They were impeccably behaved and their voices made me cry with pride many times.  I am so glad they enjoyed themselves. Thank you for your support you have given us we couldn’t do it without you! The recording will be out soon and we will send out details about it ASAP.

Thank you for all of your support! Have a lovely week!

Miss Norton

 


22 November 2021

This week in English we will be continuing to learn our new text map of the Manchester Ridgeback. The children will be learning about the features of a Non-Chronological Report. They will also be able to create their own dragon and start to write their own Non-Chronological Report.

In Maths, we will be subtracting lengths, measuring the perimeter, perimeters on a grid, the perimeter of a rectangle and the perimeter of rectangular shapes.

A useful website to look at for maths this week is-  https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/topics/zvmxsbk/articles/zsr4k7h

In topic this week we will be learning all about Queen Victoria. The children will be learning how to construct informed responses that involve thoughtful selection and organisation of relevant historical information by finding out about Queen Victoria’s quest for empire.

 

At home

Please complete pages 20 and 21 in the CGP comprehension book. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, Monday 29.11.21.

Please continue to make sure your child reads at least three times a week as this has a massive impact on their ability to answer comprehension questions and widens their vocabulary.

 

The work so far on times tables has been brilliant, please continue to help your children to learn all their times tables as this will have a massive impact on their maths skills and will help them throughout their school life.

 

Spellings:

The spelling we are focusing on this week are:

  • extreme
  • famous
  • favourite
  • February

Please practise these at home. You will be tested on all the words on the Year 3/4 word list each half term.

 

Thank you for all of your support! Have a wonderful week!

Miss Norton


15 November 2021

At school

This week in English we will be starting to learn about Non-Chronological reports. We will be looking at dragon reports and will be eventually creating our own report based on our own made up dragon.

In Maths, we will be learning about equivalent lengths – m and cm, equivalent lengths – mm and cm, kilometres, adding lengths and subtracting lengths.

 

At home

Please complete pages 18 and 19 in the CGP comprehension book. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, Monday 22.11.21.

Spellings:

The spelling we are focusing on this week are:

  • enough
  • exercise
  • experience
  • experiment

Please practise these at home. You will be tested on all the words on the Year 3/4 word list each half term.

 

Thank you for all of your support! Have a wonderful week!

Miss Norton


08 November 2021

At school

This week in English we will be continuing to familiarise ourselves with different forms of poetry. We will be reading the poem called “The Moon” and the children will create their own poem about the sun.

In Maths, we will be securing our knowledge of addition and subtraction. We will be learning about estimating and learning how to know which strategies to use to solve problems involving addition and subtraction. This week we will also be solving two step word problems.

At home

Please complete pages 16 and 17 in the CGP comprehension book. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, Monday 15.11.21.

Spellings:

The spelling we are focusing on this week are:

  • early
  • earth
  • eight
  • eighth

Please practise these at home. You will be tested on all the words on the Year 3/4 word list each half term.

 

Thank you for all of your support! Have a wonderful week!

Miss Norton


01 November 2021

At school

This week in English we will be looking closely at poems around a theme. The children will be exploring different types of poems and will be creating their own about a theme of their choice. We will also be continuing to practise our dictionary skills.

In Maths, we will be continuing our work on addition and subtraction. We will be subtracting numbers with more than one exchange, understanding and using word problems, estimating answers and checking strategies.

 

At home

Please complete pages 14 and 15 in the CGP comprehension book. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, Monday 8.11.21.

 

 

Spellings:

The spelling we are focusing on this week are: decide, describe, different and disappear. Please practise these at home. You will be tested on all the words on the Year 3/4 word list each half term.

 

Thank you for all of your support!

Miss Norton


18 October 2021

At school

This week in English we will be focussing on poetry about autumn. We will be exploring different types of poetry and creating our very own poem. We will also be learning how to correctly use a dictionary.

In Maths, we will be learning how to subtract two 4-digit numbers with one exchange, subtracting two 4-digit numbers with more than one exchange, working on using efficient subtraction, estimating answers and checking strategies.

During our topic session this week we will be learning about the arrival of King William and the Normans in 1066.

 

At home

Please complete pages 12 and 13 in the CGP comprehension book. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, Monday 1.11.21.

Spellings:

The spelling we are focusing on this week are: circle, complete, consider and continue. Please practise these at home. You will be tested on all the words on the Year 3/4 word list each half term.

 

Have a wonderful half term, thank you for all of your support!

Miss Norton


11 October 2021

At school

This week in English we will be doing a shared write changing prose into a play script, this week we will look in depth into play scripts and understanding why they are important. At the end of the week the children will be acting out and creating their own play. We will be also learning how to use a dictionary correctly.

 

In Maths, we will be adding two 4-digit numbers with one exchange, adding two 4-digit numbers with more than one exchange, recapping subtracting a 3-digit number from a 3-digit number with no exchange, subtracting two 4-digit numbers with no exchange and recapping subtracting a 3-digit number from a 3-digit number with no exchange.

Good websites to look at for maths this week-

Addition and subtraction – Year 4 – P5 – Maths Collection – Home Learning with BBC Bitesize – BBC Bitesize

Year 4 Addition & Subtraction (1) (snappymaths.com)

 

During our topic session this week we will be looking and learning about human geography, including: types of settlements and land use.

At home

Please complete pages 12 and 13 in the CGP comprehension book. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, Monday 18.10.21.

Spellings:

The spelling we are focusing on this week are: caught, century, centre and certain. Please practise these at home. You will be tested on all the words on the Year 3/4 word list each half term.

Have a wonderful week,

Miss Norton

 


04 October 2021

At school

This week in English we will be finishing off our new versions of Narnia. After that we will be moving onto a new topic of Play scripts! We will be reading and exploring a play script through drama and identifying features of a play script using a key. We will also be finishing sharing drama sketches and studying a piece of writing and using a key system to identify the key features.

In Maths, we will be adding and subtracting 1s, 10s, 100s and 1,000s, recapping on adding two 3-digit numbers not crossing 10 or 100 and adding two 4-digit numbers with no exchange.

During our topic session this week we will be looking at making systematic and careful observations and, where appropriate, taking accurate measurements using standard units, using a range of equipment.

 

At home

Please complete pages 10 and 11 in the CGP comprehension book. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, Monday 11.10.21.

Spellings:

The spelling we are focusing on this week are: build, busy, business and calendar. Please practise these at home. You will be tested on all the words on the Year 3/4 word list each half term.

 

Have a wonderful week,

Miss Norton


27 September 2021

At school

This week in English we will be continuing to be looking at atmospheres in settings. Throughout this week, we will be writing our own version of Narnia, looking closely at the description of settings and character development. During this week we will be using the skills we have learnt in the past few weeks and use it to create a new portal story getting inspiration from Narnia. In grammar, we will be focusing on learning how to use paragraphs to organise ideas around a theme

In maths, we will be looking at counting in our 25’s, introducing negative numbers and looking at Roman numerals.

Great link for Roman Numerals-

Roman numerals – KS2 – Maths – Home Learning with BBC Bitesize – BBC Bitesize

During our topic session this week we looking to be able record findings using simple scientific language, drawings, labelled diagrams, keys, bar charts, and tables. Also using results to draw simple conclusions, make predictions for new values, suggest improvements and raise further questions

At home

Please complete pages 8 and 9 in the CGP comprehension book. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, Monday 4.10.21.

Spellings:

The spelling we are focusing on this week are: arrive, believe, bicycle and breath.

Please practise these at home. You will be tested on all the words on the Year 3/4 word list each half term.

 

Have a wonderful week,

Miss Norton


20 September 2021

At school

This week in English we will be continuing to be looking at atmospheres in settings. Throughout this week, we will be writing our version of Narnia, looking closely at the description of settings and character development. In grammar, we will be focusing on learning how to edit and improve our work.

BBC Bitesize- Settings-

https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/articles/zdfytrd

 

In maths, we will be looking at number lines to 10,000, finding 1, 10, 100 more or less of a number, 1,000 more or less of a number and comparing and ordering numbers to 1,000.

BBC Bitesize quiz for 1000 more or less of a number- https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/articles/zw267yc

 

During our topic session this week we will continuing to develop a chronologically secure knowledge and understanding of British, local and world history, establishing clear narratives within and across the periods they study by learning about the significance of a royal heir in securing the power of a monarchy..

At home

Please complete pages 6 and 7 in the CGP comprehension book. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, Monday 27.09.21.

 

Spellings:

The spelling we are focusing on this week are: address, answer, although and appear.

Please practise these at home. You will be tested on all the words on the Year 3/4 word list each half term.

Remember:

Keep recording your reading daily reading in your home/school diary, write three comments about the book you are currently reading and make sure your parents have signed it. I will collect them on Friday.

 

Have a wonderful week,

Many thanks,

Miss Norton


13 September 2021

This week in English we will be continuing to be looking at atmospheres in settings. We will be reading a new story called “Elf Road” and will be comparing it to Narnia.

In grammar, we will be closely looking at expanded noun phrases.
BBC Bitesize has a great explanation of what an expanded noun phrase is.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/topics/zwwp8mn/articles/z3nfw6f

In maths, we will be rounding to the nearest 100, counting in 1,000s, representing numbers to 10,000, 1,000s, 100s, 10s and 1 and partitioning numbers.

During our topic session this week we will be learning about the arrival of King William and the Normans in 1066.

At home
Please complete pages 2 and 3 in the CGP comprehension book. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, Monday 13.09.21.

Spellings:
The spelling we are focusing on this week are: accident, accidentally, actual and actually.
Please practise these at home. You will be tested on all the words on the Year 3/4 word list each half term.
Remember:

Keep recording your reading daily reading in your home/school diary, write three comments about the book you are currently reading and make sure your parents have signed it. I will collect them on Friday.

Many thanks,
Miss Norton


06 September 2021

Year 4 Preview Learning: Week commencing 6th September

This week in English we will be diving into our new text- The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe. We will be looking closely at settings and imaginary worlds. Our focus throughout this half term will be creating atmosphere in settings.

Our spellings this week will be revising Year 1 & 2 and Year 3 & 4 high frequency words.

In grammar, we will be looking closely at descriptive language, this will enable us to describe settings in an interesting and detailed way.

In maths, we will be starting our place value unit. We will be especially focusing on Numbers to 1,000, 100s, 10s and 1s, number lines to 1,000, rounding to the nearest 10. As times tables are extremely important in year 4, I will be setting Purple Mash times table questions twice a week to be done at home. The children have their user names and passwords in their homework diary. I will be showing the children how to access this at home, please contact me if there are any problems.

Your children will be bringing home a place value white rose maths booklet. The work in the booklet will reflect the work we will be doing in class so it would helpful if your child had a go at home! This will not be expected to be brought back into School.

I will also be sending home a comprehension book, one comprehension a week will be expected to be completed and we will mark as a whole class on a Friday.

The children are also expected to read at least 3 times a week and write 3 comments about their book. Homework diaries will be checked daily.

Many thanks for your support, looking forward to smashing Year 4 with your wonderful children! Please do not hesitate to come and talk to me if there are any problems!

Miss Norton