Year 5 Preview Learning Archive

05 July 2021

In English, we will be writing a persuasive letter asking the council to help with Eco issues. We will also be writing a non-chronological report to spread awareness for an Eco topic of our choice.

In all of our writing we will be trying to use a wide range of punctuation; appropriate and interesting vocabulary; as well as ensuring we are using a variety of sentence types and structures.

 

In our spellings for the week, we are converting nouns or verbs into adjective using the suffix -ful:

  • beautiful
  • faithful
  • doubtful
  • fearful
  • thankful
  • boastful
  • pitiful
  • plentiful
  • fanciful
  • merciful

In Maths, we will be recapping and consolidating our knowledge of multiples, factors, prime numbers and checking calculations.

If you would like to support your child with their maths work you could work on any of the pages in the maths work booklet.

Please continue to practise times tables with your children; the quicker they are at their times table facts the easier they will find maths.

You can support your child’s learning by reading with them as often as you are able. There has also been a lot of research to suggest that turning on the subtitles on your TV can really benefit a child’s reading.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Thom

 


28 June 2021

In English, we will be recapping and solidifying our knowledge of semi colons and dashes. We will also be practising writing descriptive openings.

In our spellings for the week, we are learning adding the verb prefix over-:

  • overthrow
  • overturn
  • overslept
  • overcook
  • overreact
  • overestimate
  • overuse
  • overpaid
  • overlook
  • overbalance

In Maths, we will be recapping and consolidating our knowledge of rounding, roman numerals, place value problems, checking calculations and addition and subtraction problems and challenges.

If you would like to support your child with their maths work you could work on any of the pages in the maths work booklet.

Please continue to practise times tables with your children; the quicker they are at their times table facts the easier they will find maths.

You can support your child’s learning by reading with them as often as you are able. There has also been a lot of research to suggest that turning on the subtitles on your TV can really benefit a child’s reading.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Thom


21 June 2021

In English, we will be recapping and assessing our knowledge of spelling, reading comprehension and SPaG.

In our spellings for the week, we are learning verbs which have had the re- and de- prefixes added: deflate, deform, decode, decompose, defuse, recycle, rebuild, rewrite, replace and revisit.

In Maths, we will be recapping and assessing our knowledge from the year so far in both arithmetic and reasoning.

If you would like to support your child with their maths work you could work on any of the pages in the maths work booklet.

Please continue to practise times tables with your children; the quicker they are at their times table facts the easier they will find maths.

You can support your child’s learning by reading with them as often as you are able. There has also been a lot of research to suggest that turning on the subtitles on your TV can really benefit a child’s reading.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Thom


14 June 2021

In English, we will be finishing our narrative unit. We will be writing a letter in response the film ‘The Alchemist’s Letter’, developing our figurative language and planning, writing and editing a narrative detailing Nicholas’ actions and thoughts.

In our spellings for the week, we are learning unstressed vowels in polysyllabic words:

  • definite
  • desperate
  • liberate
  • secretary
  • stationary
  • dictionary
  • Wednesday
  • familiar
  • original
  • animal

In Maths, we will be recapping long multiplication and division.

If you would like to support your child with their maths work you could work on pages 12-17 in the maths work booklet.

Please continue to practise times tables with your children; the quicker they are at their times table facts the easier they will find maths.

You can support your child’s learning by reading with them as often as you are able. There has also been a lot of research to suggest that turning on the subtitles on your TV can really benefit a child’s reading.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Thom


07 June 2021

In English, we will be starting a narrative unit. We will be recapping extended noun phrases, emotive language and figurative language.

In our spellings for the week, we are learning challenge words:

  • amateur
  • ancient
  • bargain
  • muscle
  • queue
  • recognise
  • twelfth
  • identity
  • develop
  • harass

In Maths, we will be starting a continuing our unit on geometry. We will recap our knowledge of quadrilaterals (4 sided shapes) and learn how to calculate lengths and angles in shapes, learn about regular (same length sides) and irregular (different length sides) polygons (2-D shapes with straight sides) as well as reasoning about 3-D shapes.

If you would like to support your child with their maths work you could work on page 33 question 3 and 4, page 34 question 2 and 3, page 35 question 2 in the maths work booklet.

Please continue to practise times tables with your children; the quicker they are at their times table facts the easier they will find maths.

You can support your child’s learning by reading with them as often as you are able. There has also been a lot of research to suggest that turning on the subtitles on your TV can really benefit a child’s reading.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Thom

 


24 May 2021

In English, we will be continuing to investigate Goldilocks. We will practise how to use formal language, semicolons, commas, conjunctions of time. We will hold a debate to discover if we think Goldilocks is guilty or not guilty and we will then recount the whole story from our own perspectives, using the skills that we have learnt to form a professional formal report based around facts.

In our spellings for the week, we are learning spellings with an /ear/ sound spelt ‘ere’:

  • sincere
  • interfere
  • sphere
  • adhere
  • severe
  • persevere
  • atmosphere
  • mere
  • hemisphere
  • austere

In Maths, we will be starting a continuing our unit on geometry. We will learn how to draw and measure lines and angles accurately, calculate angles on a straight line and around a point. We will also recap our knowledge of triangles.

If you would like to support your child with their maths work you could work on page 33 question 2, page 34 question 1 and 4 in the maths work booklet. You can find more information and activities to help your children practise these skills here: https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/articles/zdp8bqt

Please continue to practise times tables with your children; the quicker they are at their times table facts the easier they will find maths. You can support your child’s learning by reading with them as often as you are able. There has also been a lot of research to suggest that turning on the subtitles on your TV can really benefit a child’s reading.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Thom


17 May 2021

In English, we will be writing the final draft of our Kipling style origin stories in to our Star Write books. We will also be starting a new unit of work on report writing. This week we will be focusing on conjunctive adverbs, subjective and objective language, finding key information in a text and the differences between traditional and modern versions of stories.

In our spellings for the week, we are learning adverbials of place:

  • nearby
  • everywhere
  • nowhere
  • inside
  • downstairs
  • outside
  • upstairs
  • underneath
  • behind
  • somewhere

In Maths, we will be starting a new unit on geometry. We will recap our learning on different types of angles and start learning about measuring angles using a protractor.

If you would like to support your child with their maths work you could work on page 33 question 1, page 35 question 1 and 3 in the maths work booklet. You can find more information and activities to help your children practise these skills here: https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/articles/zdp8bqt

Please continue to practise times tables with your children; the quicker they are at their times table facts the easier they will find maths. You can support your child’s learning by reading with them as often as you are able. There has also been a lot of research to suggest that turning on the subtitles on your TV can really benefit a child’s reading.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Thom


10 May 2021

In English, we will be continuing our work on Rudyard Kipling looking specifically this week at his Just so stories. We will be planning, writing and improving our own version of an origin story in Kipling’s style. We will be including as many of the grammar and punctuation features as we can.

In our spellings for the week, we are learning adverbials of time:

  • yesterday
  • tomorrow
  • later
  • immediately
  • earlier
  • eventually
  • recently
  • previously
  • finally
  • lately

In Maths, we will be finishing our unit on decimals. We will look at decimal sequences, problem solving and multiplying and dividing decimals by multiples of ten.

If you would like to support your child with their maths work you could work on pages 20-22 in the maths work booklet.

Please continue to practise times tables with your children; the quicker they are at their times table facts the easier they will find maths. You can support your child’s learning by reading with them as often as you are able. There has also been a lot of research to suggest that turning on the subtitles on your TV can really benefit a child’s reading.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Thom


04 May 2021

 


26 April 2021

In English, we will be continuing our work on Rudyard Kipling looking specifically this week at The Jungle Book and his short animal stories. This week we will be thinking about authentic dialogue with correct punctuation, comparing different Kipling texts and manipulating a text to a different point of view.

In our spellings for the week, we are learning words containing the letter string ‘ough’:

  • though
  • although
  • dough
  • doughnut
  • through
  • rough
  • cough
  • tough
  • enough
  • trough

In Maths, we will be continuing our unit on decimals. We will look at adding and subtracting decimals crossing one.

If you would like to support your child with their maths work you could work on pages 20-22 in the maths work booklet.

Please continue to practise times tables with your children; the quicker they are at their times table facts the easier they will find maths. You can support your child’s learning by reading with them as often as you are able. There has also been a lot of research to suggest that turning on the subtitles on your TV can really benefit a child’s reading.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Thom

 


19 April 2021

In English, we will be starting our work on Rudyard Kipling looking specifically this week at The Jungle Book. This week we will also be thinking about reading comprehension questions and how to answer them.

In our Spellings for the week, we are learning words that have been converted from nouns or adjectives into verbs using the suffix -en:

  • blacken
  • brighten
  • flatten
  • lengthen
  • mistaken
  • straighten
  • shorten
  • thicken
  • tighten
  • toughen.

In Maths, we will be continuing our unit on decimals. First we will recap learning fraction, decimal and percentage learning from last term. Then we will look at adding and subtracting decimals within one and decimal complements to one.

If you would like to support your child with their maths work you could work on pages 20-22 in the maths work booklet.

Please continue to practise times tables with your children; the quicker they are at their times table facts the easier they will find maths. You can support your child’s learning by reading with them as often as you are able. There has also been a lot of research to suggest that turning on the subtitles on your TV can really benefit a child’s reading.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Thom


22/03/2021

In English, we will be continuing our work with the Tale of the Three Brothers. This week we will use the knowledge we have gained over the past couple of weeks to write our own traditional tale.

In our spellings for the week, we are learning words that have been converted from nouns or adjectives into verbs using the suffix -ise:

  • criticise
  • advertise
  • capitalise
  • finalise
  • equalise
  • fertilise
  • terrorise
  • socialise
  • visualise
  • vandalise

In Maths, we will be continuing our unit on decimals. We will look at rounding decimals, comparing and ordering decimals, understanding percentages, writing decimals as percentages and equivalent percentages, fractions and decimals.

If you would like to support your child with their maths work you could work on pages 20-22 in the maths work booklet.

Please continue to practise times tables with your children; the quicker they are at their times table facts the easier they will find maths. You can support your child’s learning by reading with them as often as you are able. There has also been a lot of research to suggest that turning on the subtitles on your TV can really benefit a child’s reading.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Thom


15th March 2021

In English, we will be continuing our work with the Tale of the Three Brothers. This week we will explore the cohesion, repetition, adverbials of time and pace in the text by writing a similar version of our model text.

Our Spellings for the week we are learning words that have been converted from nouns or adjectives into verbs using the suffix -ate:

  • pollinate
  • captivate
  • activate
  • motivate
  • communicate
  • medicate
  • elasticate
  • hyphenate
  • alienate
  • validate

In Maths, we will be starting our new unit on decimals. We will look at the link between fractions and decimals, decimals to two decimal places, explore what a thousandth is and what it looks like as a decimal.

If you would like to support your child with their maths work you could recap fractions on pages 23-24 in the maths work booklet. Your child would also be able to complete page 22, linking fractions to decimals.

Please continue to practise times tables with your children; the quicker they are at their times table facts the easier they will find maths. You can support your child’s learning by reading with them as often as you are able. There has also been a lot of research to suggest that turning on the subtitles on your TV can really benefit a child’s reading.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Thom


8th March 2021

This week will be continuing our topic of ‘Eager Explorers’ by investigating electricity and circuits.

In English, we will be starting a new unit based on traditional tales. Looking specifically at the Tale of the Three Brothers from the Harry Potter series. This week we will explore the text in detail, focusing on vocabulary, features of a traditional tale and creating a story map.
There are some excellent retellings of traditional tales by Hans Christian Andersen available here if you would like to explore them with your child at home:
English KS2: Tales of Hans Christian Andersen – BBC Teach

Our spellings for the week we are learning words with an /or/ sound spelt ‘au’:

  • pause
  • cause
  • sauce
  • fraud
  • launch
  • author
  • August
  • applaud
  • astronaut
  • restaurant

In Maths, we will be continuing with our fractions unit looking at multiplying fractions. This will be broken down in to multiplying unit fractions by an integer, multiplying non-unit fractions by an integer and multiplying mixed numbers by integers.

Please continue to practise times tables with your children; the quicker they are at their times table facts the easier they will find maths.

You can support your child’s learning by reading with them as often as you are able.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Thom


5th January 2021

This week in English, we will be practising our comprehension skills, with a particular focus on inference, evidencing and understanding what the question is asking.

Our spellings for the week we are creating nouns using -ity suffix:

  • community
  • curiosity
  • ability
  • captivity
  • activity
  • sensitivity
  • possibility
  • flexibility
  • visibility
  • eternity

In maths, we will be recapping the mathematical units we learnt last term. These include: place value, addition and subtraction, statistics, multiplication and division (prime numbers, square numbers, cube number, factors, multiples and multiplying and dividing by 10, 100 or 1000) and area and perimeter.

Please continue to practise times tables with your children; the quicker they are at their times table facts the easier they will find maths. You can support your child’s learning by reading with them.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Thom


7th December 2020

This week in English, we will be looking at a short film, ‘Oktopodi’.

We will be exploring dialogue between two characters, writing a sequel, creating an alternate ending and practising out presentation and redrafting skills.

Our spellings for the week are challenge words:

  • vegetable,
  • vehicle,
  • bruise,
  • soldier,
  • stomach,
  • recommend,
  • leisure,
  • privilege,
  • occur
  • neighbour.

In maths, we will be measuring and calculating the area of rectangles, compound shapes and irregular shapes.

Please continue to practise times tables with your children; the quicker they are at their times table facts the easier they will find maths. You can support your child’s learning by reading with them.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Thom


30th November 2020

This week in English, we will be looking at a short film, ‘Oktopodi’.

We will be practising our comprehension skills and retelling the story using all the descriptive techniques we have learnt so far.

Our spellings for the week are adverbs of frequency and possibility: certainly, definitely, possibly, perhaps, probably, frequently, often, occasionally, rarely and always.

In maths, we will be measuring and calculating the perimeter of rectangles and rectilinear shapes.

Please continue to practise times tables with your children; the quicker they are at their times table facts the easier they will find maths. You can support your child’s learning by reading with them.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Thom


23rd November 2020

This week in English, we will be writing a newspaper article, a diary entry, character analysis and a prequel to the Titanium video we have been studying. We will be focusing on how formality and tone depends on the piece being written and or who is speaking/narrating.

Our spellings for the week are words ending in –ment:

  • equipment,
  • environment,
  • government,
  • parliament,
  • enjoyment,
  • document,
  • management,
  • movement,
  • replacement
  • statement.

In maths, we will be recapping what we have learnt in our multiplication and division unit. This includes: factors, multiple, prime numbers, square numbers, cube numbers and multiplying and dividing decimals and integers by 10, 100 and 1000.

Please continue to practise times tables with your children; the quicker they are at their times table facts the easier they will find this maths unit.

You can support your child’s learning reading with them. You can also use question 1 of pages 10-11 in your child’s maths workbook to recap their learning in maths.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Thom


16th November 2020

This week in English, we will be investigating and expanding our understanding of what a sentence is. Will be identifying levels of formality within a report and selecting appropriate grammar and vocabulary to support this, distinguishing between the language of speech and writing and choosing the appropriate register, demonstrating the formal style of writing required to write a newspaper report and finally, selecting the correct level of formality when writing a diary.

Our spellings for the week are modal verbs: can, could, may, might, must, shall, should, will, would and ought.
Modal verbs are auxiliary verbs which cannot usually work alone. They are used with in sentences with another main verb. Modal verbs can be used to show how possible something is, or how likely it is to happen/have happened.

In maths, we will be multiplying and dividing by 10, 100 and 1000 mentally and understanding multiples of 10, 100 and 1000.

Please continue to practise times tables with your children; the quicker they are at their times table facts the easier they will find this maths unit.

You can support your child’s learning reading with them. You can also use question 1 of pages 12-13 in your child’s maths workbook to recap their learning in maths.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Thom


9th November 2020

This week in English, we will be going over how to edit a piece of writing as well as writing a number of short writes about the Titanium music video. Within these pieces of writing we will be including all of the techniques we have learnt so far as well as the show not tell technique.

Our spellings for the week are words with silent letters: wrestle, wrapper, island, aisle, debris, mortgage, castle, yacht, guarantee, guilty.

In maths, we will be looking at prime, square and cube numbers.

Please continue to practise times tables with your children; the quicker they are at their times table facts the easier they will find this maths unit.

You can support your child’s learning reading with them. You can also use pages 10-11 in your child’s maths workbook to recap their learning in maths.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Thom


2nd November 2020

This week in English, we will be recapping how to use commas to separate dependant and main clauses, to clarify ambiguity and to mark an embedded clause.

Our spellings for the week are words with silent letters:

  • doubt,
  • lamb,
  • debt,
  • thumb,
  • solemn,
  • autumn,
  • column,
  • knight,
  • knuckle,
  • knot.

In maths, we will be look multiplication and division for the next 4 weeks. We will be learning about multiples, factors and common factors this week.

Please practise times tables with your children over half term. The quicker they are at their times table facts the easier they will find this maths unit.

You can support your child’s learning reading with them. You can also use pages 10-11 in your child’s maths workbook to recap their learning in maths.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Thom


19th October 2020

This week in English, we writing our final draft of our hot write as well as recapping and assessing our spelling, punctuation and grammar that we have learnt so far.

For our spellings this week and over half term we will being reviewing the spellings we have learnt over half term.

In maths, we will be looking at statistics. We will be learning how to draw, read and interpret line graphs and how to answer questions concerning two way tables and timetables.

You can support your child’s learning practising time tables and reading with them. You can also use pages 37-40 in your child’s maths workbook to recap their learning in maths.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Thom


12th October 2020

This week in English, we will be adding detail to the plans we created last week and writing them out.  We will make sure that our adventure stories contain a flash back and all the aspects of our toolkit.

Our spellings for the week are homophones and near homophones:

  • farther, father,
  • guessed, guest,
  • heard, herd,
  • led, lead,
  • mourning, morning.

In maths, we will be subtracting in column method with exchanging, rounding to estimate, understanding the inverse (addition and subtraction) and using it to check our answers and multi-step addition and subtraction problems.

You can support your child’s learning practising time tables and reading with them. You can also use pages 6-9 in your child’s maths workbook to recap their learning in maths.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Thom

 


Week Commencing 5th October 2020

This week in English, we will be planning our own adventure stories with a flashback and writing newspaper reports about the events of our planned story. We will be focusing on correct speech punctuation, powerful verbs and adverbial phrases.

Our spellings for the week are homophones and near homophones:

  • past, passed,
  • proceed, precede,
  • aisle, isle,
  • aloud, allowed,
  • affect and effect.

In maths, we will be starting our unit on addition and subtraction with 4 digit numbers and exchanging.

You can support your child’s learning practising time tables with them.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Thom


28th September 2020

This week in English, we will be gathering vocabulary that creates a tense atmosphere. We will also be planning our innovated version of Kidnapped and writing the innovated version up making sure we include: correct speech punctuation, exciting verbs, time adverbials, a variety of punctuation and interesting adverbial phrases.

Our spellings for the week are words with the long vowel sound /i/ spelt with a y:

  • apply
  • supply
  • identify
  • occupy
  • multiply
  • rhyme
  • cycle
  • python
  • hygiene
  • hyphen

In maths, we will be developing our understanding of rounding numbers to roman numerals and recapping our previous learning on place value.

You can support your child’s learning practising time tables with them.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Thom


21st September 2020

This week in English, we will be answering comprehension questions, summarising and exploring the text as readers. We will also be creating a toolkit and boxing up the text.

Our spellings for the week are words with the short vowel sound/i/ spelt with y.
symbol, mystery, lyrics, oxygen, symptom, physical, system, typical, crystal, rhythm

In maths, we will be developing our understanding of rounding numbers to 1,000,000, negative numbers and roman numerals.

You can support your child’s learning by looking at pages 1, 2 and 3 in their Maths Workbook (excluding question 4 non pages 2 and 3) and practising time tables with them.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Thom


Week commencing 14/9/20

This week in English, we will be orally learning our model adventure story with a flashback.

We will be exploring the vocabulary and characters within the text.

Our spellings for the week are words with endings that sound like /shuhs/ spelt –tious or –ious: ambitious, cautious, fictitious, infectious, nutritious, contentious, superstitious, pretentious, anxious and obnoxious.

In maths, we will be developing our understanding of numbers to one million, rounding numbers to 100,000 and 1,000,000, comparing and ordering numbers to one million and counting in 10s, 100s, 1,000s, 10,000s and 100,000s.

You can support your child’s learning by looking at pages 4 and 5 in their Maths Workbook.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Thom


Week commencing 7/9/20

This week in English, we will be doing some creative writing, reminding ourselves about the basics of writing, focusing on year 5 writing expectations.

We will be introducing and exploring an adventure story with a flashback.

Our spellings for the week are words with endings that sound like /shuhs/ spelt with –cious: vicious, gracious, spacious, malicious, precious, conscious, delicious, suspicious, atrocious, and ferocious.

In maths, we will be learning to: read, write, order and compare numbers up to 100 000 and determine the value of each digit. We will also look at counting forwards and backwards in multiples of 10 and 100, as well as rounding numbers to the nearest 10, 100 or 1000.

You can support your child’s learning by looking at pages 4 and 5 in their Maths Workbook.

Many thanks for your continued support,