Year 5 Preview Learning Archive

 


15 November 2021

In school:

This week we will be starting a new unit about non-fiction writing. We will be investigating when to use commas to avoid ambiguity or to improve the clarity of our sentences. We will also be using the Titanium music video as a stimulus to write a story opening, write a character description and a summary of the video’s content.

For Maths this week we will be starting a new unit on multiplication and division. We will be learning about multiples, factors, common factors and prime numbers.

This half term we will be starting our history portion of our Regal Rulers topic, looking closely at different castles in the UK. This week we will be exploring Hemsley castle. We will be investigating which Monarch’s built and made use of the castle as well as observing the contrasts and trends of its use overtime. The children will devise questions to try to understand the significance of events within Deal Castle’s past. We will try to answer those questions by looking at a range of sources but the children will have to consider the possible bias of the sources they are using.


At home:

Maths:
To help your learning in Maths please work through some of the pages in your Maths booklet that has been sent home. Here is a link to the online version: https://wrm-13b48.kxcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/Y5-HL-Autumn-Block-4-Multiplication-and-division-1-2020.pdf

Comprehension:
Please complete pages 20 and 21, ‘A Letter from E.B. White’ in the CGP comprehension book. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, next Monday in school (22.11.21).

Spellings:
The spelling we are focusing on this week are: equip, equipped, equipment and especially.  

Please practise these at home. You will be tested on all the words on the Year 5/6 word list each half term.

Remember:

  • Keep recording your reading daily reading in your home/school diary and make sure your parents have signed it. You should have at least three reads. I will collect them in next Monday.
  • Don’t forget to complete the times table challenge I’ve set for you on Purple Mash and press hand in so I can see that you have completed it. If it doesn’t work, practise your timetables another way and get your parents to sign it off in your home/school diary.

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Thom


08 November 2021

In school:

This week we will be completing our unit about descriptive narrative writing looking at using precise detail to create meaning description and a clear atmosphere. We will be planning, writing and editing an invented piece of descriptive writing, trying to use as many of the features learnt as possible.

For Maths this week we will be continuing a unit on statistics. We will be reading and interpreting tables, using line graphs to solve problems, as well as investigating two way tables and timetables. We will also completing an end of unit test.

This half term we will be starting our history portion of our Regal Rulers topic, looking closely at different castles in the UK. This week we will be exploring Deal castle. We will be investigating which Monarch’s built and made use of the castle as well as observing the contrasts and trends of its use overtime. The children will devise questions to try to understand the significance of events within Deal Castle’s past. We will try to answer those questions by looking at a range of sources but the children will have to consider the possible bias of the sources they are using.


At home:

Maths:
To help your learning in Maths please work through some of the pages in your Maths booklet that has been sent home. Here is a link to the online version: https://wrm-13b48.kxcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/Y5-HL-Autumn-Block-3-Statistics-2020.pdf

Comprehension:
Please complete pages 18 and 19, ‘Tracking Basking Sharks’ in the CGP comprehension book. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, next Monday in school (15.11.21).

Spellings:
The spelling we are focusing on this week are: dictionary, disastrous, embarrass and environment.  

Please practise these at home. You will be tested on all the words on the Year 5/6 word list each half term.

Remember:

  • Keep recording your reading daily reading in your home/school diary and make sure your parents have signed it. You should have at least three reads. I will collect them in next Monday.
  • Don’t forget to complete the times table challenge I’ve set for you on Purple Mash and press hand in so I can see that you have completed it. If it doesn’t work, practise your timetables another way and get your parents to sign it off in your home/school diary.

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Thom


01 November 2021

In school:

This week we will be continuing our unit about descriptive narrative writing looking at using precise detail to create meaning description and a clear atmosphere. We will be planning, writing and editing an innovated piece of descriptive writing, trying to use as many of the features learnt as possible.

For Maths this week we will be starting a unit on statistics. We will be reading, interpreting and answering questions on charts and line graphs. We will also be drawing our own line graphs.

During our topic session this week we will be finding royal residences around the world and we will create a tourist poster for Machu Picchu using all the geographical knowledge about the area.


At home:

Maths:
To help your learning in Maths please work through some of the pages in your Maths booklet that has been sent home. Here is a link to the online version: https://wrm-13b48.kxcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/Y5-HL-Autumn-Block-3-Statistics-2020.pdf

Comprehension:
Please complete pages 16 and 17, ‘From a Railway Carriage’ in the CGP comprehension book. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, next Monday in school (08.11.21).

Spellings:
The spelling we are focusing on this week are: definite, determined, develop and desperate.  

Please practise these at home. You will be tested on all the words on the Year 5/6 word list each half term.

Remember:

  • Keep recording your reading daily reading in your home/school diary and make sure your parents have signed it. You should have at least three reads. I will collect them in next Monday.
  • Don’t forget to complete the times table challenge I’ve set for you on Purple Mash and press hand in so I can see that you have completed it. If it doesn’t work, practise your timetables another way and get your parents to sign it off in your home/school diary.

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Thom


18 October 2021

In school:

This week we will be continuing our unit about descriptive narrative writing looking specifically in to a style of description called show not tell. When we use show not tell, we describe the character’s emotions through the senses or the setting in order to create a particular atmosphere. For example, if I am trying to create a tense piece of writing, instead of saying ‘The boy was terrified.’ I might write ‘All the hair on the boy’s arms stood on end and a single bead of sweat dripped down his quaking spine.’ The idea is to show the reading how a character is feeling rather than telling them explicitly.

For Maths this week, we will be spending some time practising our times tables. We need to know all our multiplication facts from 1- 12, really fluently in year 5 so we will be making sure we do. It would be extremely beneficial if the children practised the times tables they are not as confident in at home as much as possible. Their fluency in times tables will make most of the other maths units we are doing this year much easier to achieve.

During our topic session this week we will be taking part in our school Marvellous Middle tournament in our mixed age house groups. We will take part in different physical activities that may have been used in some of the times periods we have or will be studying this term.


At home:

Maths:
To help your learning in Maths please work through some of the pages in your Maths booklet that has been sent home. Here is a link to the online version: https://wrm-13b48.kxcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/Y5-HL-Autumn-Block-2-Addition-and-subtraction-2020.pdf

Comprehension:
Please complete pages 14 and 15, ‘Pompeii’ in the CGP comprehension book. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, next Monday in school (01.11.21).

Spellings:
The spelling we are focusing on this week are: convenience, correspond, criticise and curiosity.  

Please practise these at home. You will be tested on all the words on the Year 5/6 word list each half term.

Remember:

  • Keep recording your reading daily reading in your home/school diary and make sure your parents have signed it. You should have at least three reads. I will collect them in next Monday.
  • Don’t forget to complete the times table challenge I’ve set for you on Purple Mash and press hand in so I can see that you have completed it. If it doesn’t work, practise your timetables another way and get your parents to sign it off in your home/school diary.

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Thom


11 October 2021

In school:

This week we will be continuing our unit about descriptive narrative writing using Zelda Claw and the Rain Cat as our model text. We will identify features in the text and use the toolkit to improve the model text. We will also be recapping our understanding of commas and clauses (main, subordinate and relative). We will be creating a piece of descriptive writing from the Rain Cat’s perspective and editing it.

For Maths this week, we will be continuing our unit about addition and subtraction. We will learning about: subtraction of numbers over 4 digits with exchanges using column method; rounding to estimate and approximate; inverse operations (addition and subtraction); multi-step addition and subtraction problems.

During our topic session this week we will be plotting the royal residences on a map of the UK and then looking at royal residences around the world and why each location may have been chosen based on the human and physical features of the landscape. In Art we will be creating perspective drawing.


At home:

Maths:
To help your learning in Maths please work through some of the pages in your Maths booklet that has been sent home. Here is a link to the online version: https://wrm-13b48.kxcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/Y5-HL-Autumn-Block-2-Addition-and-subtraction-2020.pdf

Comprehension:
Please complete pages 12 and 13, ‘The Iron Man’ in the CGP comprehension book. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, next Monday (18.10.21).

Spellings:
The spelling we are focusing on this week are: competition, conscience, conscious and controversy.  

Please practise these at home. You will be tested on all the words on the Year 5/6 word list each half term.

Remember:

  • Keep recording your reading daily reading in your home/school diary and make sure your parents have signed it. You should have at least three reads. I will collect them in next Monday.
  • Don’t forget to complete the times table challenge I’ve set for you on Purple Mash and press hand in so I can see that you have completed it. If it doesn’t work, practise your timetables another way and get your parents to sign it off in your home/school diary.

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Thom


04 October 2021

In school:

This week we will be starting a new unit about descriptive narrative writing using Zelda Claw and the Rain Cat as our model text. We will learn this text orally, creating a text map, asking questions about the text and unpicking the vocabulary used in the text. We will also be recapping our understanding of full stops and commas as well as different sentence types (simple, compound and complex) and different clauses (main, subordinate and relative). We will be using our knowledge of the latter in short burst pieces of writing based on our model text.

For Maths this week, we will be starting a new unit about addition and subtraction. We will recapping addition and subtraction with 4 digit numbers and one or more exchange. We will also be learning about addition of numbers over 4 digits with exchanges using column method.

During our topic session this week we will be planning investigations to answer a question about materials that we would like to know the answer to, considering fair testing. In Art we will be using chalk, pastels, paints or collage to create a pop art picture of a royal person.


At home:

Maths:
To help your learning in Maths please work through some of the pages in your Maths booklet that has been sent home. Here is a link to the online version: https://wrm-13b48.kxcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/Y5-HL-Autumn-Block-2-Addition-and-subtraction-2020.pdf

Comprehension:
Please complete pages 10 and 11, ‘The Great Fire of London’ in the CGP comprehension book. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, next Monday (11.10.21).

Spellings:
The spelling we are focusing on this week are: cemetery, committee, communicate and community.  

Please practise these at home. You will be tested on all the words on the Year 5/6 word list each half term.

Remember:

  • Keep recording your reading daily reading in your home/school diary and make sure your parents have signed it. You should have at least three reads. I will collect them in next Monday.
  • Don’t forget to complete the times table challenge I’ve set for you on Purple Mash and press hand in so I can see that you have completed it. If it doesn’t work, practise your timetables another way and get your parents to sign it off in your home/school diary.

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Thom


27 September 2021

Year 5 Preview Learning for the week beginning 27/09/21

In school:

This week we will be writing, editing and publishing our own recounts. Making sure that we are including all the grammar and punctuation we know so far and completing our work to year 5 expectations. We will also be writing a short descriptive from a picture stimulus.

For Maths this week, we will be continuing to learn about place value. We will recapping rounding, negative numbers and roman numerals. We will also be learning about how to solve problems involving place value.

During our topic session this week we will be learning about reversible and irreversible changes that can occur and fair testing. . In Art we will be learning to draw Henry VIII and looking at Tudor portraits.


At home:

Maths:
To help your learning in Maths please work through some of the pages in your Maths booklet that has been sent home. Here is a link to the online version: https://wrm-13b48.kxcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/Y5-HL-Autumn-Block-1-Place-value-2020.pdf

Comprehension:
Please complete pages 8 and 9 in the CGP comprehension book. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, next Monday (04.10.21).

Spellings:
The spelling we are focusing on this week are: awkward, bargain, bruise and category.  

Please practise these at home. You will be tested on all the words on the Year 5/6 word list each half term.

Remember:

  • Keep recording your reading daily reading in your home/school diary and make sure your parents have signed it. I will collect them in next Monday.
  • Don’t forget to complete the times table challenge I’ve set for you on Purple Mash and press hand in so I can see that you have completed it.

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Thom


20 September 2021

In school:

This week we will be recapping our knowledge of subordinate clauses, expanded noun phrases, fronted adverbials and relative clauses. We will also be looking at help the reader to follow our writing by using cohesion techniques. We will be planning our own recount.

For Maths this week, we will be continuing to learn about place value. We will be rounding numbers to the nearest million, counting in 10s, 100s, 1,000s, 10,000s and 100,000s. We will comparing and ordering numbers to one million and learning about negative numbers and roman numerals.

During our topic session this week we investigating solutions. In Art we will be looking at royal portraits and we will try to create our own.


At home:

Maths:
To help your learning in Maths please work through some of the pages in your Maths booklet that has been sent home. Here is a link to the online version: https://wrm-13b48.kxcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/Y5-HL-Autumn-Block-1-Place-value-2020.pdf

Comprehension:
Please complete pages 6 and 7 in the CGP comprehension book. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, next Monday (27.09.21).

Spellings:
The spelling we are focusing on this week are: appreciate, attached, available and average.  

Please practise these at home. You will be tested on all the words on the Year 5/6 word list each half term.

Remember:

  • Keep recording your reading daily reading in your home/school diary, write three comments about the book you are currently reading and make sure your parents have signed it. I will collect them in next Monday.
  • Don’t forget to complete the times table challenge I’ve set for you on Purple Mash and press hand in so I can see that you have completed it.

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Thom


13 September 2021

In school:

This week we will be recapping our knowledge of simple, compound and complex sentences and relative clauses. We will also be looking at how to engage the reader by varying sentence types, sentences structures, adding description and interesting word choices. We will be writing our own recount based on the model text and the visitors we had last week.

In this week’s spelling we will be looking back at year 2, 3 and 4 words, checking our confidence with homophones and common exception words.

For Maths this week, we will be continuing to learn about place value. We will be rounding numbers to the nearest 10, 100, 1,000 or 10,000. We will comparing and ordering numbers to 100,000 and making sure that we understand numbers from 100,000 up to one million.

During our topic session this week we recapping changing states and investigating separating different mixtures and solutions. In Art we will be looking at royal portraits and we will try to create our own.


At home:

Maths:
To help your learning in Maths please work through some of the pages in your Maths booklet that has been sent home. Here is a link to the online version: https://wrm-13b48.kxcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/Y5-HL-Autumn-Block-1-Place-value-2020.pdf

Comprehension:
Please complete pages 4 and 5 in the CGP comprehension book. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, next Monday (20.09.21).

Spellings:
The spelling we are focusing on this week are: aggressive, amateur, ancient and apparent.  

Please practise these at home. You will be tested on all the words on the Year 5/6 word list each half term.

Remember:

  • Keep recording your reading daily reading in your home/school diary, write three comments about the book you are currently reading and make sure your parents have signed it. I will collect them in next Monday.
  • Don’t forget to complete the times table challenge I’ve set for you on Purple Mash and press hand in so I can see that you have completed it.

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Thom


06 September 2021

Year 5 Preview Learning for the week beginning 06/09/21

In school:

This week we will be learning a recount text in English. We will recap our knowledge of word classes (nouns, verbs, adverbs, determiners etc.), simple and compound sentences. We will also learn about complex sentences and relative clauses.

In this week’s spelling we will be looking back at year 2, 3 and 4 words, checking our confidence with homophones and common exception words.

For Maths this week, we will be starting a unit on place value. We will be securing our understanding of numbers to 1,000 and rounding to the nearest 10 or 100. We will also be learning how to round to the nearest 1,000 and to understand numbers up to 10,000.

During our topic session this week we will be completing our Stunning Start and will take part in workshops with ‘Flying Colours Entertainment’. The workshops will explore medieval history from the Normans to the Tudors. As part of the class workshops the children will have the opportunity to be characters and explore life in medieval Britain. We will also have a visit from King Henry VIII. The actor playing Henry VIII works at Hampton Court and the Tower of London, and has also played Henry VIII in several TV documentaries about the Tudors.


At home:

Maths:
To help your learning in Maths please work through some of the pages in your Maths booklet that has been sent home. Here is a link to the online version: https://wrm-13b48.kxcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/Y5-HL-Autumn-Block-1-Place-value-2020.pdf

Comprehension:
Please complete pages 2 and 3 in the CGP comprehension book. You will need to bring this back to school, completed, next Monday (13.09.21).

Spellings:
The spelling we are focusing on this week are: accommodate, accompany, according and achieve

Please practise these at home. You will be tested on all the words on the Year 5/6 word list each half term.

Remember:

  • Keep recording your reading daily reading in your home/school diary, write three comments about the book you are currently reading and make sure your parents have signed it. I will collect them in next Monday.
  • Don’t forget to complete the times table challenge I’ve set for you on Purple Mash.

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Miss Thom