Year 6 Preview Learning Archive

 


11 October 2021

Year 6 Preview Learning: 11th October 2021

English

This week in English, we will be completing out biography writing with a focus on what it means to rigorously edit our own writing. We will self-assess the effectiveness of our own work against the toolkit for biographical writing and annotate the text with key features which we believe make it effective. We will also choose a particular section or element of our texts to improve; this could be a particular paragraph, the use of conjunctions, technical vocabulary, or the overall spelling.

We will use our polishing pens to show improvements in our text and explain the changes we have made in order to make it more effective.

You will find videos and activities to help you practise the skills of editing on the following link below: https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/articles/zmbr47h

 

Spelling

Our year 5 / 6 words to practise this week are: cemetery, committee, communicate, community.

In spelling lessons, we will be thinking about the convention that we normally double a single consonant in a multi syllable word after a short vowel sound and how this can be helpful in learning some of the Y3/4 and Y5/6 spelling list words. We will be trying to identify the short vowels and double consonants and attempting to spell the words below:

Year 3 /4 examples: appear, arrive, different, difficult, disappear, grammar, occasion, opposite, possess, possible, pressure, suppose.

Year 5 /6 examples: accommodate, accompany, according, aggressive, apparent, appreciate, attached, committee, communicate, community, correspond, embarrass, equipped, exaggerate, excellent, harass, immediate, interrupt, marvellous, occupy, occur, opportunity, sufficient, suggest.

The complete lists of 3/4 and 5/6 spellings are in your spelling folders, on the class webpage and on the links below:

SpellingWordList_Y3-4.pdf (oxfordowl.co.uk)

SpellingWordList_Y5-6.pdf (oxfordowl.co.uk)

Grammar

In grammar, we will be consolidating the concept of cohesion and how to make a piece of writing flow.

We will be looking at particular grammar which aids cohesion, for example – adverbials or conjunctions. What does cohesion do?

  • It keeps order in the paragraph.
  • Related ideas are kept together.
  • It makes it easier for the reader to understand the text.
  • Ideas flow more smoothly.
  • It provides links between ideas.

 

You may like to watch the video on the following link:

https://youtu.be/CQBcWXO_oVQ

Please complete the ‘Linking ideas and cohesion A and B’ tasks on SPAG.com. Your logins will be in your reading diary.

 

Reading and Comprehension

Please ensure you are reading with your parents regularly, with at least three entries with parent signatures in your reading diary. Don’t forget to complete a book review each time you finish your book for a chance to be entered into the prize draw.

The comprehension text for the week will be: ‘Drive-in to 1950s America.’ Please complete the word meaning, summary and language questions on pages 20-21 of your non-fiction workbook, we will then discuss the possible answers in class next Monday.

 

Maths

In maths, we will be learning about factors, multiples, prime numbers, square numbers and cubed numbers.

A factor is an integer (whole number) that will divide exactly into another number. For example, 8 is a factor of 24 because 8 will divide into 24 exactly 3 times with no remainder.

The multiples of a number are the values in that number’s times table. For example, the multiples of 5 are 5, 10, 15, 20, 25 and so on.There are an infinite amount of multiples of any given number.

A prime number is a number with exactly two factors. A prime number is only divisible by 1 and itself. Another way to think of prime numbers is that they are only ever found as answers in their own times tables.

A square number is the answer when an integer is multiplied by itself. It is called a square number because it gives the area of a square whose side length is an integer.

A cube number is the answer when an integer is multiplied by itself, then multiplied by itself again. It is called a cube number because it gives the volume of a cube whose side length is an integer.

 

There are further explanations, activities and videos on the following link:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/topics/zfq7hyc

Please complete your White Rose Maths Block 2 – Four Operations home learning booklet (B) – Questions 1,2,3,4,6,7,12. (You have a paper copy and the link is below.)

https://wrm-13b48.kxcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/Y6-HL-Autumn-Block-2-Four-operations-B-2020.pdf

Many thanks for your continued support, Mrs Field, Mrs Riggs and Mrs Parry.


04 October 2021

English

This week in English, we will be continuing our unit of work on biographies. We will be looking at biographies on people who are less well-known and thinking about how the author, therefore, convinces us that they are a significant / important person to read about. We will be researching a second figure, for example: someone who is famous or notorious for negative reasons, someone more unusual so that other people may not already know them, or someone who has made a positive change to society but is relatively unknown. You may like to think about who you feel has been overlooked in history but would deserve to be written about. The following website gives many different examples of biographies to ‘magpie’ from:

https://www.ducksters.com/biography/

Spelling

Our year 5 / 6 words to practise this week are: awkward, bargain, bruise, category.

In spelling lessons, we will be continuing to explore root words and suffixes. We will be developing our understanding of the rules for applying suffixes beginning with vowel letters – -ed and -ing / -er and -est / -y – . Do we keep, chop or change the ending? Look at the rules below, can you think of further examples?

When you add suffixes beginning with vowel letters, you either:

  • Do nothing, just add the suffix (where word ends in two consonants) – sort, sorting, sorted / long, longer, longest.
  • Drop e and add the suffix – dance, dancing, danced / nice, nicer, nicest.
  • Change y to i and add the suffix (where the word ends with consonant followed by a y and only for -ed) – reply, replying, replied / copy, copying, copied but play, playing, played / noisy, noisier, noisiest.
  • Double the consonant and add the suffix (where the word ends in a short vowel sound and consonant) – shop, shopping, shopped / fit, fitting, fitted / fit, fitter, fittest.

The complete lists of 3/4 and 5/6 spellings are in your spelling folders, on the class webpage and on the links below.

SpellingWordList_Y3-4.pdf (oxfordowl.co.uk)

SpellingWordList_Y5-6.pdf (oxfordowl.co.uk)

Grammar

In grammar, we will be revising apostrophes for possession and contraction with a further exploration of plural apostrophes. An apostrophe can be used to show that one thing belongs to or is connected to something. This is called a possessive apostrophe. Let’s take a look at some examples.

The cat’s tail was fluffy. Cat is a singular noun so you need to add an apostrophe and “s” to show that the tail belongs to the cat.

Charles’ cat was naughty. Charles is a singular noun that ends in an “s”, so you need to add an apostrophe to show that the cat belongs to Charles.

The brothers’ feet were muddy. Brothers is a plural noun that ends in an “s” so you don’t add another “s” after your apostrophe. You can just add an apostrophe to show the feet belongs to the brothers.

The children’s toys were broken. Children is a plural noun but it doesn’t end with an “s” so you need to add an apostrophe and “s” to show that the toys belong to the children.

You may like to watch the videos and try the quiz on the following link:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/topics/zvwwxnb/articles/zx9ydxs

Please complete the ‘Apostrophes and Plurals A and B’ tasks on SPAG.com. Your logins will be in your reading diary.

 

Reading and Comprehension

Please ensure you are reading with your parents regularly, with at least three entries with parent signatures in your reading diary. Don’t forget to complete a book review each time you finish your book for a chance to be entered into the prize draw.

The comprehension text for the week will be: ‘Drive-in to 1950s America.’ Please complete the inference questions on pages 18-19 of your non-fiction workbook, we will then discuss the possible answers in class next Monday.

Maths

In maths, we will be learning to divide four digit numbers by two digit numbers using the formal written method of long division. If the number which we are dividing by is quite large, it can be useful to write the multiples in a list before beginning. (See the example below.)

 

 

There are further explanations and videos on the following link:

https://www.theschoolrun.com/what-is-long-division

Please complete your White Rose Maths Block 1 – Four Operations home learning booklet (A) – Questions 5 to 9. (You have a paper copy and the link is below.)

https://wrm-13b48.kxcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/Y6-HL-Autumn-Block-2-Four-operations-A-2020.pdf

There are also a video for you to watch at home with your parents on multiplication from the link to White Rose, Maths with Michael, Episode 4 – Division below:

 https://whiterosemaths.com/for-parents/maths-with-michael/

Many thanks for your continued support, Mrs Field, Mrs Riggs and Mrs Parry.


27 September 2021

Year 6 Preview Learning: 27th September 2021

English

This week in English, we will be beginning a new unit of work on biographies. We will be looking at existing examples in order to identify features of a successful biography text. We will also be planning our own text based on the life of a ‘Regal Ruler.’ Think about the regal ruler which you would like to write about and the information which you may need to find out about them.  You may also like to have a look at the features of a biography mat below to familiarise yourself with this genre and the requirements for this text type:

Spelling

Our year 5 / 6 words to practise this week are: appreciate, attached, available, average.

In spelling lessons, we will be exploring root words and suffixes.

  • The suffixes -ness and -ment will generate a noun from an adjective or verb, such as: A happy child is full of happiness, or I enjoy singing as it gives me enjoyment.
  • The suffixes -ful and -less will turn a noun into an adjective: If you do not have a penny, you are penniless.
  • The suffix -ly will convert an adjective into an adverb: When people are kind, they behave kindly towards others.

How many words can you think of with the suffixes -ment, -ness, -ful, -less and –ly?

You may like to watch the video below which explains how suffixes are added to the root word:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/teach/class-clips-video/english-ks2-wonderful-words-suffixes-part-2/zvjvrj6

The complete lists of 3/4 and 5/6 spellings are in your spelling folders, on the class webpage and on the links below.

SpellingWordList_Y3-4.pdf (oxfordowl.co.uk)

SpellingWordList_Y5-6.pdf (oxfordowl.co.uk)

Grammar

In grammar, we will be revising direct speech and how to use full speech punctuation, developing last week’s learning. Here are a few general rules for punctuating speech:

  • Start a new line for a new speaker.
  • Add a comma before the opening speech marks.
  • Open and close speech with speech marks (or inverted commas).
  • Begin what is spoken with a capital letter.
  • End the line of speech with a comma, exclamation mark or question mark.

 

There are further explanations of the rules and videos to watch on the link below:

https://www.theschoolrun.com/what-are-direct-and-indirect-speech

Please complete the ‘Direct speech punctuation A and B’ tasks on SPAG.com. Your logins will be in your reading diary.

Reading and Comprehension

Please ensure you are reading with your parents regularly, with at least three comments with parent signatures in your reading diary.

The comprehension text for the week will be: ‘Drive-in to 1950s America.’ Please complete the fact retrieval questions on pages 16-17 of your non-fiction workbook, we will then discuss the possible answers in class next Monday.

Maths

In maths, we will be revising the formal written method of long multiplication, moving up to multiplying a four-digit number by a two-digit number. Please complete your White Rose Maths Block 1 – Four Operations home learning booklet (B) – Question 10. (You have a paper copy and the link is below.)

https://wrm-13b48.kxcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/Y6-HL-Autumn-Block-2-Four-operations-B-2020.pdf

There are also a video for you to watch at home with your parents on multiplication from the link to White Rose, Maths with Michael, Episode 3 – Multiplication below:

 https://whiterosemaths.com/for-parents/maths-with-michael/

If you need further reminders, you can watch the videos, try the quiz and complete the activities on BBC Bitesize:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/articles/z4chnrd

Many thanks for your continued support, Mrs Field, Mrs Riggs and Mrs Parry.


20 September 2021

English

This week in English, we will be continuing our work on character descriptions. We will be discussing how speech can help tell the reader about a character, conveying character through dialogue. We will be exploring the actual words that the character says as well as how they say it; reminding ourselves of alternative words for said and how to use adverbs when describing speech e.g. said angrily. We will consolidate the conventions for using inverted commas and full speech punctuation.

The following webpage and video also give a quick reminder:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/topics/zvwwxnb/articles/ztcp97h

https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/clips/zvftsbk

Spelling

Our year 5 / 6 words to practise this week are: aggressive, amateur, ancient, apparent.

In spelling lessons, we will be learning to distinguish between the spelling and meaning of homophones. A homophone is a word that sounds the same as another but is spelt differently, e.g. mail, male; to, too, two. We will be identifying some of the pairs of homophones from Y3/4 and Y5/6 teaching, where one of the words is a verb, for example: passed / past, missed / mist, guessed / guest, allowed / aloud. We will be discussing how we might recognise which of these is a verb in each case (-ed endings.) We will also be exploring the difference between verbs and nouns such as advice / advise, device / devise, licence / license, practice / practise, prophecy / prophesy, following the convention that nouns are generally spelt with a c and verbs with an s.

The complete lists of 3/4 and 5/6 spellings are in your spelling folders, on the class webpage and on the links below.

SpellingWordList_Y3-4.pdf (oxfordowl.co.uk)

SpellingWordList_Y5-6.pdf (oxfordowl.co.uk)

Grammar

In grammar, we will be revising relative clauses. A relative clause can be used to give additional information about a noun. They are introduced by a relative pronoun like ‘that’, ‘which’, ‘who’, ‘whose’, ‘where’ and ‘when’. For example: ‘I won’t stand by the man who smells of slime.’ In this example, the relative clause is ‘who smells of slime’. It provides more information about the man. The relative pronoun, ‘who’, is used to connect these clauses in the sentence. You may like to complete the quiz below:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/topics/zwwp8mn/articles/zsrt4qt

Please complete the ‘Relative clauses’ task on SPAG.com. Your logins will be in your reading diary.

 

Reading and Comprehension

Please ensure you are reading with your parents regularly, with at least three comments with parent signatures in your reading diary.

The comprehension text for the week will be: ‘Dare to Dance.’ Please complete the word meaning, summary and prediction questions on pages 10-11 of your non-fiction workbook, we will then discuss the possible answers in class next Monday.

 

 

Maths

In maths, we will be revising addition and subtraction. We will be revising the formal written column method for both addition and subtraction and looking at addition and subtraction in a problem solving context. Please complete your White Rose Maths Block 1 – Four Operations home learning booklet (A) – Questions 1 to 4. (You have a paper copy and the link is below.)

https://wrm-13b48.kxcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/Y6-HL-Autumn-Block-2-Four-operations-A-2020.pdf

 

There are also a video for you to watch at home with your parents on subtraction from the link to White Rose, Maths with Michael, below:

 https://whiterosemaths.com/for-parents/maths-with-michael/

Many thanks for your continued support, Mrs Field, Mrs Riggs and Mrs Parry.

 


13 September 2021

Year 6 Preview Learning: 13th September 2021

English

This week in English, we will be continuing our work on character descriptions. One of the effective strategies for characterisation is ‘show not tell.’ We will explore how information about a character can be given or inferred through their behaviours or actions, their movements and their appearance. We will be planning and writing our descriptions, making some surprising or unusual moments which really make the reader think about the personality of this character. Our focus character will be Gollum from ‘Lord of the Rings.’

Spelling

Our year 5 / 6 words to practise this week are: accommodate, accompany, according, achieve.

This week, we will be continuing our work on revising the statutory spelling lists for years 3 / 4.  We will be highlighting any tricky words and thinking about strategies to learn them, such as splitting up into letter strings or creating mnemonics. A mnemonic is a tool that helps you to memorise something specific, like how to spell a word. For example, the following is a mnemonic for the word ‘necessary’ – ‘one collar and two sleeves’. This mnemonic could help you remember that the word ‘necessary’ has one ‘c’ and two ‘s’s’, which enables you to remember the tricky parts of this spelling. Mnemonics can also be used to remember tricky homophone spellings. For example, ‘their’ is a possessive word – it has the word ‘heir’ in it – which is someone who may inherit lots of possessions.

The complete lists are in your spelling folders, on the class webpage and on the links below.

SpellingWordList_Y3-4.pdf (oxfordowl.co.uk)

SpellingWordList_Y5-6.pdf (oxfordowl.co.uk)

Grammar

In grammar, we will be revising main and subordinate clauses and conjunctions. A main clause is a clause that contains a subject and an object. Main clauses make sense on their own. E.g. The cat sat down. Sometimes a sentence is made up of two clauses: a main clause and a subordinate clause, which relies on the main clause. A subordinate clause contains a subject and a verb, but it needs to be attached to a main clause because it cannot make sense on its own. For example:

This is a complex sentence (also referred to as a multi-clause sentence). It has a main clause (‘I first saw her in Paris’) and a subordinate clause (‘ where I lived as a small child’), which relies on the main clause to make sense. The two clauses are joined by the conjunction ‘where’. You can watch the following videos for more information: https://youtu.be/pWS3Cbf5h9U or  https://youtu.be/ErwKUGfBzhg

Please complete the ‘Subordinate clauses and conjunctions A’ task on SPAG.com. Your logins will be in your reading diary.

 

Reading and Comprehension

Please ensure you are reading with your parents regularly, with at least three comments with parent signatures in your reading diary.

The comprehension text for the week will be: ‘Dare to Dance.’ Please complete the inference questions on pages 8 -9 in your non-fiction workbook, we will then discuss the possible answers in class next Monday.

 

 

Maths

In maths, we will be learning to: round any whole number to a required degree of accuracy and using negative numbers in context, calculating intervals across zero.  Please complete your White Rose Maths Block 1 – Place Value home learning booklet– Questions 4 to 11. (You have a paper copy and the link is below.)

https://wrm-13b48.kxcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/Y6-HL-Autumn-Block-1-Place-value-2020.pdf

 

There are also videos, tutorials and quizzes to support your learning on BBC Bitesize on the following links:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/topics/zh8dmp3/articles/zpx2qty

https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/topics/znwj6sg/articles/zxthnbk

Many thanks for your continued support, Mrs Field, Mrs Riggs and Mrs Parry.

 


6 September 2021

English

This week in English, we will be introducing a narrative with a focus on characterisation.

We will be creating a text map and creating a toolkit for successful writing. It may look something like the one below:

Characterisation toolkit

To make your character come alive you could:

  • Describe the setting where they are – use a preposition.
  • Select effective adjectives for appearance – synonym list with commas.
  • Include an unusual or striking fact. E.g. Carol had always been afraid of the dark. Joe kept a pet rat in a cage made of bamboo.
  • Show what the character is like by how they behave (show not tell.) What is their desire or goal?
  • Show what the character is like by revealing how others react to them.
  • Reveal what the character is like by what they say (dialogue.)
  • Include conjunctions / relative clauses to add interesting details or explain e.g. because, while, although, if / who, where, whilst, when.

 

Spelling

This week, we will be assessing our knowledge of the statutory spelling lists for years 3 / 4 and years 5 / 6.  We will be sending home a highlighted copy of our current knowledge so that you can see what spellings you still need to learn. The complete lists are in your spelling folders, on the class webpage and on the links below.

SpellingWordList_Y3-4.pdf (oxfordowl.co.uk)

SpellingWordList_Y5-6.pdf (oxfordowl.co.uk)

Grammar

In grammar, we will be revising grammar vocabulary from previous years, classifying: nouns, adjectives, verbs, adverbs, prepositions, determiners and articles. It would be helpful to login to SPAG.com and attempt Terminology Year 5 A and B. (Google is always very useful for definitions and reminders, as is: https://home.oxfordowl.co.uk/english/primary-grammar/grammar-year-6-age-10-11/.)

Reading and Comprehension

Please ensure you are reading with your parents regularly, with at least three comments with parent signatures in your reading diary.

The comprehension text for the week will be: ‘Dare to Dance.’ Please complete fact retrieval questions on pages 6-7 of your non-fiction workbook, we will then discuss the possible answers in class next Monday.

 

Maths

In maths, we will be learning to: read, write, order and compare numbers up to 10 000 000 and determine the value of each digit. Please complete your White Rose Maths Block 1 – Place Value home learning booklet– Questions 1 to 3. (You have a paper copy and the link is below.)

https://wrm-13b48.kxcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/Y6-HL-Autumn-Block-1-Place-value-2020.pdf

 There are also videos, tutorials and quizzes to support your learning on BBC Bitesize on the following link:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/articles/zfjgf82

 

 

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Field, Mrs Riggs and Mrs Parry.