Year 6 Preview Learning Archive

7th December 2020

This week in English, we will be completing our portal stories, remembering to edit and improve our own writing. We will also be learning how to precis longer passages of text. A précis is a condensed version of a text, keeping the main points and order of the original. Usually it reduces the text to approximately a third of its original length. At KS2 the focus should be on developing the ability to condense information into a shorter version.

There is a useful video and activity on the link below which, although it is aimed at year eight children, I think helps:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/articles/zw4rsk7

For spellings, we will be revising both the year 3 /4 list and the year 5 / 6 list. Any extra practise that you can do at home will be really useful. You can find the lists on the following links:

https://cdn.oxfordowl.co.uk/2019/08/29/13/54/08/76f1443d-9b6d-4030-be0d-25fcfef01438/SpellingWordList_Y3-4.pdf

https://cdn.oxfordowl.co.uk/2019/08/29/13/56/09/5a42eb6a-f57f-4dc4-a66e-bd4c5e27e4b7/SpellingWordList_Y5-6.pdf

In grammar, we will be revising suffixes and prefixes.  A prefix is a string of letters that are added to the beginning of a root word, changing its meaning. Each prefix has a meaning (for example, un- means not, sub- means under mis- means wrong or badly, bi- means two.) They will look at words with these prefixes and how that meaning is incorporated into the word, for example: a bicycle has two wheels and a bilingual person is fluent in two languages. Suffixes are groups of letters added to the end of a word. This ‘breaking down’ of words helps children to understand the meaning of other words and to think carefully about how these words are spelt.

 

 

You may find it helpful to login to SPAG.com and complete ‘Suffixes and prefixes A and B.’

 

 

 

 

 

Our comprehension this week is continuing with the text ‘Diving the Depths.’ Please support your child in completing the word meaning questions, summary questions and comparison question on pages 40-41 of their non-fiction comprehension book. (There is an overall mark page in the back which could be useful.)

In maths, we will be revising the work we have completed this Autumn term and unpicking any misconceptions or areas which we found challenging. We will be focussing on our reasoning skills, trying to answer ‘mastery style questions.’

You can support your child’s learning, by asking them to revisit any areas they are still unsure of, on pages 1 to 18 in their maths workbook.

White Rose Home learning videos are also an excellent resource to reinforce any challenging areas. Ask your child to choose an area they feel they wish to take another look at and follow the link: https://whiterosemaths.com/homelearning/year-6/

 

Many thanks for your continued support, Mrs Field.


30th November 2020

This week in English, we will be thinking about journeying though magical doorways.  We will be writing a list poem and description based on our initial ideas, letting our imaginations run wild!

We will also be beginning to plan a portal story based on stepping through an unusual door.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Our spellings for the week include the prefixes micro and mini:

  • minibus,
  • miniskirt,
  • minicam,
  • minibeast,
  • minicab,
  • minimum,
  • microscope,
  • microchip,
  • microphone,
  • microwave.

In grammar, we will be looking at formal and informal language. Formal language is used when we are communicating with people we don’t know very well and want to impress or show respect to. For example, police officers or head teachers. Informal language is used when we are more relaxed and with people we know well. For example, think about how you would answer your best friend if they asked you what you did at the weekend. Now think about how you would answer the same question if your head teacher asked you instead. How would each answer be different? There are useful videos and activities on the following BBC home learning link:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/articles/zmnvgwx

You may also find it helpful to login to SPAG.com and attempt ‘formal and informal language A and B.’

Our comprehension this week will be based on the text ‘Diving the Depths.’ Please support your child in answering the inference questions on pages 38-39 of their non-fiction comprehension book.

In maths, we will be revising the use of all four operations, particularly in a problem solving context.

 

You can support your child’s learning by asking them to revisit any areas they are still unsure of on pages 1 to 18 in their maths workbook. There are also helpful activities on the BBC bitesize link below: https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/articles/z429kmn

 

Many thanks for your continued support, Mrs Field.


23rd November 2020

 

This week in English, we will be completing a series of short writing tasks based on our class novel, ‘Goodnight Mister Tom.’ We will be attempting: a letter, diary, description and short narrative.  We will also be looking at accent and dialect and how speech can reflect a character’s personality.  See the example of Mister Tom and Willie talking below:

 

Our spellings for the week are word families based on common words:

  • suggest,
  • digest,
  • congestion,
  • gesture,
  • gestation,
  • lightning,
  • daylight,
  • enlighten,
  • twilight,
  • limelight.

In grammar, we will be looking at co-ordinating and subordinating conjunctions.

coordinating conjunction is used to link two independent clauses. For example, ‘and’, ‘but’ and ‘or’.

subordinating conjunction is used to introduce a subordinate clause. For example, ‘although’, ‘after’ and ‘before’. Further explanations can be found on the following links:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/topics/zwwp8mn/articles/z9wvqhv

https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/topics/zwwp8mn/articles/zqk37p3

You may find it helpful to login to SPAG.com and attempt ‘Subordinate clauses and conjunctions B.’

Our comprehension this week will be based on the text ‘Diving the Depths.’ Please support your child in answering the fact retrieval questions on pages 36-37 of their non-fiction comprehension book.

In maths, we will be revising how to use co-ordinates in all four quadrants, alongside the concepts of translation and reflection.

You can support your child’s learning by exploring pages 36 and 37 in their maths workbook. There are also helpful activities on the BBC bitesize link below: https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/articles/z99n2v4

Many thanks for your continued support, Mrs Field.

Click here to see what we did in previous weeks


16th November 2020

This week in English, we will be completing our unit on discussion texts. We will be publishing a ‘perfect’ copy of our work in our ‘Star Write’ books. We will also be learning the skills of debate, building on each other’s viewpoints. You may wish to look at the following link from BBC Bitesize, answering the question – what is a debate?

https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/topics/zxvv4wx/articles/ztx8pbk

Our spellings for the week are word families based on common words:

  • temperature,
  • temper,
  • temperament,
  • tempered,
  • variety,
  • vary,
  • variation,
  • varied,
  • variable,
  • variance.

In grammar, we will be looking at finding synonyms and antonyms.

You may find it helpful to login to SPAG.com and attempt ‘Synonyms and antonyms A and B.’ Alternatively, you could use a thesaurus (or online tool) to make a list of interesting synonyms and antonyms for common words e.g. big, nice, happy etc.

Our comprehension this week will be based on the text ‘From Sketches to Cinema.’ Please support your child in answering the word meaning, summary and structure questions on pages 30-31 of their non-fiction comprehension book.

In maths, we will be thinking about how to associate a fraction with division and calculate decimal fraction equivalents. We will also be looking for equivalences between fractions, decimals and percentages.

 

You can support your child’s learning by exploring page 19, questions 3 and 4, in their maths workbook. There are also helpful videos and activities on BBC bitesize:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/articles/zjckjp3

Many thanks for your continued support, Mrs Field.


9th November 2020

This week in English, we will be continuing our unit on discussion texts. We will be editing our work towards the year six requirements for writing. (See below.) We will also be asking ourselves what vices we should try to give up, for example: should children give up playing the x box? Should adults give up drinking coffee?

In grammar, we will be looking at using modal verbs. These are verbs that indicate likelihood, ability, permission or obligation. Words like: can/could, may/might, will/would, shall/should and must. For example, in the example: “The Sea Monster should go away,” ‘should’ is the modal verb as it indicates the likelihood of the Sea Monster going away.

 

 

Our spellings for the week are words ending in –ably:

  • adorably,
  • valuably,
  • believably,
  • considerably,
  • tolerably,
  • changeably,
  • noticeably,
  • dependably,
  • comfortably,
  • reasonably.

You may find it helpful to login to SPAG.com and attempt ‘Probability words.’ Alternatively, you could look on BBC Bitesize: https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/topics/zwwp8mn/articles/zps4pbk.

Our comprehension this week will be based on the text ‘From Sketches to Cinema.’ Please support your child in answering the inference questions on pages 28-29 of their non-fiction comprehension book.

In maths, we will be continuing our unit of work on fractions.

We will be using our KFC method to divide fractions: keep the first number, flip the second and change the sign. For example 5 ÷ 2/3 = 5/1 ÷ 2/3 = 5/1 x 3/2 = 15/2 = 7 1/2.

You can support your child’s learning by exploring page 22, question 5 and page 23, question 3, in their maths workbook. There are also helpful videos and activities on BBC bitesize:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/articles/zhw8wty

Many thanks for your continued support, Mrs Field.


2nd November 2020

 

This week in English, we will be beginning a unit on discussion texts. (See below for an image explaining what is required in a discussion text.) We will be asking ourselves the question: should daleks be allowed on Earth?

Our spellings for the week are words ending in –able:

  • adorable,
  • valuable,
  • advisable,
  • believable,
  • desirable,
  • excitable,
  • knowledgeable,
  • likeable,
  • changeable,
  • noticeable.

In grammar, we will be looking at using parenthesis and commas. You may find it helpful to login to SPAG.com and attempt ‘Parenthesis and commas A and B.’ You could also take a look at the following website: (I apologise for the singing in the video but it is a catchy way to remember!)

https://www.theschoolrun.com/what-is-parenthesis

Our comprehension this week will be based on the text ‘From Sketches to Cinema.’ Please support your child in answering the fact retrieval questions on pages 26-27 of their non-fiction comprehension book.

 

In maths, we will be continuing our unit of work on fractions.

We will be consolidating adding and subtracting fractions, including those with mixed numbers and different denominators.  We will also be beginning to multiply fractions.

 

You can support your child’s learning by exploring page 22, question 3, in their maths workbook. There are also helpful videos and activities on BBC bitesize: https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/topics/zhdwxnb/articles/z9n4k7h

 https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/topics/zhdwxnb/articles/z8fyv4j

 

Many thanks for your continued support, Mrs Field.


Week Commencing 19th October 2020

This week in English, we will be continuing our unit on biographies, consolidating the features of biographical texts.

We will also be extending our skills of editing and publishing by writing a ‘perfect’ version.

Our spellings for the week are words ending in –able:

  • applicable,
  • tolerable,
  • operable,
  • considerable,
  • dependable,
  • comfortable,
  • reasonable,
  • perishable,
  • breakable,
  • fashionable.

In grammar, we will be looking at using fronted adverbials and commas. You may find it helpful to login to SPAG.com and attempt ‘Fronted adverbials A and B.’ You could also take a look at BBC bitesize: https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/topics/zwwp8mn/articles/zp937p3

There are no set comprehension questions for this week, but you may wish to look through the two texts we have completed so far and identify the style of questions which you find more difficult.

In maths, we will be starting a unit of work on fractions.  We will be looking at how to simplify fractions and find equivalents.  We will also be looking at ordering fractions with different denominators.

 

You can support your child’s learning by exploring page 19 questions 2 and 4 and page 20 question 3, in your maths workbook.  There are also helpful videos and activities on BBC bitesize: https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/articles/zkk6hbk

 

  

Many thanks for your continued support, Mrs Field.


12th October 2020

 

This week in English, we will be continuing our unit on biographies,

discovering the features of biographical texts

and researching unusual influential figures.

 

 

Our spellings for the week are compound adjectives with hyphens:

  • man-eating,
  • little-used,
  • rock-bottom,
  • wide-eyed,
  • pig-headed,
  • tight-fisted,
  • cold-hearted,
  • stone-faced,
  • green-eyed
  • short-tempered.

In grammar, we will be looking at linking ideas and cohesion. The term ‘cohesive devices’ refers to the conjunctions, connectives and pronouns used to link the parts of a piece of writing. Using the same verb tense throughout a text also offers ‘cohesion’. You may find it helpful to login to SPAG.com and attempt ‘Linking ideas and cohesion A and B.’ Alternatively, there is a helpful explanation on the following website: https://www.theschoolrun.com/what-are-cohesion-and-cohesive-devices-in-writing or in the following video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pt1q2RZ_n9Q

The comprehension text for this week will be: ‘The Problem with Plastic.’ Please support your child to complete the Word meaning, summary and language questions on pages 20-21 of their non-fiction comprehension workbook. We will then discuss the answers in class on Wednesday.

In maths, we will be returning to the concept of division. We will be using a written method of division to divide by two-digit numbers. We will also be consolidating the order of operations (BODMAS).

There is a helpful explanation on BBC bitesize: https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/topics/z69k7ty/articles/z24ctv4

You can support your child’s learning by exploring relevant questions on pages 13, 14, 15 and 15 in their Maths Workbook. (They do not have to complete all of these, just select examples they wish to try.)

Many thanks for your continued support, Mrs Field.

 


Year 6 Preview Learning: 5th October 2020

This week in English, we will be beginning our unit on biographies, discovering the features of biographical texts and researching influential local figures.  

  • Our spellings for the week are hyphenated prefix words:
  • co-operate,
  • co-ordinate,
  • co-own,
  • co-author,
  • re-enter,
  • re-educate,
  • re-examine,
  • re-evaluate,
  • re-energise,
  • re-elect.

In grammar, we will be revising apostrophes for possession (with plurals) and contraction. You may find it helpful to login to SPAG.com and attempt ‘Apostrophes and plurals A and B’ or watch: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zNFPnVz7JB4

The comprehension text for this week will be: ‘The Problem with Plastic.’ Please support your child to complete the inference questions Pages on pages 18-19 of their non-fiction comprehension workbook. We will then discuss the answers in class on Wednesday.

 

In maths, we will be revising multiplication.  We will be reminding ourselves of the terms: square numbers, cube numbers, factors, multiples and primes. We will also be consolidating formal long multiplication up to 4 digits by 2 digits. You can support your child’s learning by exploring relevant questions on pages 9, 10, 11 and 12 in their Maths Workbook.

 

 

 

 

 

 

You could also see BBC bitesize for a reminder, if needed: https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/articles/z4chnrd#:~:text=To%20do%20long%20multiplication%20you,together%20to%20get%20the%20answer.

 

Many thanks for your continued support, Mrs Field.

 


Year 6 Preview Learning: 28th September 2020

This week in English, we will be continuing our work on narratives with flashbacks by writing in response

to scenes from ‘Toy Story 2’ and ‘Up.’

We will also be publishing our favourite narrative so far into our Star Write books.

 

Our spellings for the week are changing –ent adjectives into –ence, -ency nouns: innocent, innocence, decent, decency, excellent, excellence, confident, confidence, existent, existence.

In grammar, we will be revising direct speech punctuation.

You may find it helpful to login to SPAG.com and attempt ‘Direct speech punctuation A and B.’

(Google is also always very useful for grammar definitions and reminders, as is: https://home.oxfordowl.co.uk/english/primary-grammar/grammar-year-6-age-10-11/.)

 

The comprehension text for this week will be: ‘The Problem with Plastic.’ Please support your child to complete the fact retrieval questions on pages 16-17 of their non-fiction comprehension workbook. We will then discuss the answers in class on Wednesday.

In maths, we will be revising column method for subtraction. Ask your child about ‘knocking on the door’ and ‘borrowing.’ They may need help with borrowing across zeros. Try the column method with numbers up to 7 digits and with decimal numbers.

You can support your child’s learning by exploring the relevant questions on pages 7 and 8 in their Maths Workbook.

 

Please can you also bring into school a plastic bottle (about 500ml) for us to use in our art work.  This bottle will be transformed into something exciting – so will not be able to be returned to you. Thank you! Here’s a clue!

 

 

 

 

Many thanks for your continued support, Mrs Field.


Year 6 Preview Learning: 21st September 2020

This week in English, we will be completing our narrative with a time slip or a flashback. We will then be editing our work against our toolkit.

We will also be introducing a new visual text, ‘The Piano’ by Aidan Gibbons.

Our spellings for the week turn –ant adjectives into –ancy/-ance nouns: observant, observance, expectant, expectancy, hesitant, hesitancy, tolerant, tolerance, relevant, relevance.
In grammar, we will be revising relative clauses. A relative clause can be used to give additional information about a noun. T

hey are introduced by a relative pronoun like ‘that’, ‘which’, ‘who’, ‘whose’, ‘where’ and ‘when’. For example: I won’t stand by the man who smells of slime. In this example, the relative clause is ‘who smells of slime’. It provides more information about the man. The relative pronoun, ‘who’, is used to connect these clauses in the sentence. You may find it helpful to login to SPAG.com and attempt ‘relative clauses,’ or look at BBC bitesize.
(https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/topics/zwwp8mn/articles/zsrt4qt)
(Google is also always very useful for grammar definitions and reminders, as is: https://home.oxfordowl.co.uk/english/primary-grammar/grammar-year-6-age-10-11/.)

The comprehension text for this week will once again be: ‘The Angel of the North.’ Please support your child to complete the word meaning questions, summary questions and prediction question on pages 10-11 of their non-fiction workbook. We will then discuss the answers in class on Wednesday.

In maths, we will be revising addition, using mental methods and consolidating the column method. You can support your child’s learning by exploring relevant questions on pages 5 and 6 in their Maths Workbook.

Many thanks for your continued support,
Mrs Field.


Year 6 Preview Learning: 14th September 2020

This week in English, we will be continuing our narrative with a time slip or a flashback. We will be editing for cohesion, clarity and extended punctuation.

Our spellings for the week are homophones: (words which sound the same or similar but are spelt differently): advice, advise, device, devise, licence, license, practice, practise, prophecy and prophesy. It will be useful to place these into a relevant sentence.

In grammar, we will be revising main and subordinate clauses. It may be helpful to login to SPAG.com and attempt ‘Subordinate clauses and conjunctions A.’ (Google is always very useful for grammar definitions and reminders, as is: https://home.oxfordowl.co.uk/english/primary-grammar/grammar-year-6-age-10-11/.)

The comprehension text for the week will be continuing: ‘The Angel of the North.’ Please support your child to complete the inference questions on pages 8-9 of their non-fiction workbook, we will then discuss the possible answers in class.

In maths, we will be continuing to round any whole number to a required degree of accuracy e.g. to the nearest 10, 100, 1000.

We will also explore the use of negative numbers in context, and calculate intervals across zero. You can support your child’s learning by exploring pages 1 and 2 in their Maths Workbook.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Field.

 


Year 6 Preview Learning: 7th September 2020

This week in English, we will be introducing a narrative with a time slip or a flashback. We will be creating a text map and discovering the key features and patterns of language in a ‘time slip’ text.

Our spellings for the week are ambitious synonyms: (adjectives with a similar meaning) aggressive, hostile, awkward, obstinate, desperate, frantic, disastrous, calamitous, marvellous and spectacular.

In grammar, we will be revising grammar vocabulary from previous years, classifying: nouns, adjectives, verbs, adverbs, prepositions, determiners and articles. It may be helpful to login to SPAG.com and attempt Terminology Year 5 A and B. (Google is always very useful for definitions and reminders, as is: https://home.oxfordowl.co.uk/english/primary-grammar/grammar-year-6-age-10-11/.)

The comprehension text for the week will be: ‘The Angel of the North.’ Please support your child to complete fact retrieval questions on pages 6-7 of their non-fiction workbook, we will then discuss the possible answers in class.

In maths, we will be learning to: read, write, order and compare numbers up to 10 000 000 and determine the value of each digit.

We will also be beginning to round any whole number to a required degree of accuracy e.g. to the nearest 10, 100, 1000. You can support your child’s learning by looking at pages 1, 3 and 5 in their Maths Workbook.

Many thanks for your continued support,

Mrs Field.